Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
Mike686
Posts: 96
Registered: ‎03-28-2011
Message 1 of 7 (278 Views)

create workplane independant of origin workplane

278 Views, 6 Replies
12-17-2012 09:45 AM

hi, i have a question about workplane..

i was reading mastering inventor, the part about ifeatures

he suggest to avoid the use of origin work plane

i read somewhere the same about icopy tool..

 

my question is what's the best way to create a workplane independant of origin workplane?

Product Design Suite 2013
Valued Mentor
japike
Posts: 322
Registered: ‎02-06-2004
Message 2 of 7 (257 Views)

Re: create workplane independant of origin workplane

12-17-2012 11:31 AM in reply to: Mike686

That depends on what you are trying to accomplish. Sometimes I use an offset workplane to define a workplane a certain distance from a surface or another workplane. Sometimes I use an edge or two to define a workplane. Sometimes I use sketch geometry to define a workplane. What are you trying to accomplish?

Peace,
Jeff
Inventor 2013
*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,271
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 3 of 7 (256 Views)

Re: create workplane independant of origin workplane

12-17-2012 11:34 AM in reply to: Mike686

I'm not sure exactly what you are trying to do, but I prefer to use origin planes for feature creation whenever possible.  One thign I cannot stand is when a user work plane is created on top of an origin plane.  It's redundant and muddys up the part.  But if you need a workplane OFF the origin plane, and do not want to use the origin plane to create it... you can create it off of some geometry in your part.

 

Maybe post a screen shot or sketch of what you're trying to accomplish?

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,846
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 7 (236 Views)

Re: create workplane independant of origin workplane

12-17-2012 12:54 PM in reply to: cbenner

cbenner wrote:

I'm not sure exactly what you are trying to do, ...


 

 

When creating iFeatures do not use the origin planes.  Can use part face (can be a dummy part - simple cube) - don't usually need a workplane, but if for some reason one is needed use dummy part face to create the plane.

 

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
Curtis_Waguespack
Posts: 2,930
Registered: ‎03-08-2006
Message 5 of 7 (233 Views)

Re: create workplane independant of origin workplane

12-17-2012 01:02 PM in reply to: Mike686

Hi Mike686,

 

Typically when you're copying a part or feature you want to set them up to be as stable and self contained as possible. My advice for iFeatures is to choose origin planes or existing faces to use as sketch planes rather than creating work planes to sketch in. Otherwise the placement of the iFeature requires much more effort (basically you'd need to redefine the workplane again when placing it).

 

So I'm not sure that I would advise creating a work plane not based on an origin plane for iFeatures any more than one that is created based on an origin plane.

 

As others have suggested, you might share your specific case example for a better understanding of the challenge you're up against.

 

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com



  solution.png  Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or  Kudos button below.





Valued Contributor
Mike686
Posts: 96
Registered: ‎03-28-2011
Message 6 of 7 (216 Views)

Re: create workplane independant of origin workplane

12-17-2012 02:10 PM in reply to: Curtis_Waguespack

hi guys,

first what i wanted to do was created a ifeature of a slotted hole

basicly its was for learning how to create an ifeatures

 

so i went and grab my "mastering inventor 2012" book and start reading about ifeatures

in the section "part and feature reuse" the part about ifeatures theres some tips for working with ifeatures

and i saw this tips:

"you should avoid the use of origin work planes,axes,and the origin center point for work features"...

 

and JDMather, i was gonna do a dummy part to use for the creation of my feature...

i saw the you tube video of ketiv technology and thats what the guy done in it..

 

so created a part file with a dummy solid then create a sketch on one face, then do my feature base on that sketch would be  a good way to do it?

 

Product Design Suite 2013
*Expert Elite*
PaulMunford
Posts: 917
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 7 (213 Views)

Re: create workplane independant of origin workplane

12-17-2012 02:17 PM in reply to: Mike686
'There can be only one'
If you create iFeatures on the origin planes, when you place the iFeature it will place itself on the origin plane.
So, just like in Jon's tutorial, create a 'dummy' part to create your iFeature on instead.
The CAD Setter Out Blog @CadSetterOut

Inventor Surfacing | AutoCAD | CAD Standards
 
Please use the Mark Solutions! Accept as Solution or Give Kudos! Kudos functions - Thank you!
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.