Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
spaceman
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎04-23-2004
Message 1 of 6 (231 Views)

Create Orthogonal Drawings from 3D models

231 Views, 5 Replies
06-07-2004 06:53 AM
Hi there,

Just wondering if there is a way to obtain a standard 3-view orthogonal drawing from a 3d model I have created? Ideally I would like to be able to export a 2d line drawing to AutoCAD. How would I go about this?

Thanks
*Rui Vaz
Message 2 of 6 (231 Views)

Re: Create Orthogonal Drawings from 3D models

06-07-2004 07:17 AM in reply to: spaceman
Just use the model in a new IDW (Drawing) file. Use the BASE VIEW command to place the first view and projections for the rest. -- Rui "spaceman" wrote in message news:21824792.1086616445289.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum2... > Hi there, > > Just wondering if there is a way to obtain a standard 3-view orthogonal drawing from a 3d model I have created? Ideally I would like to be able to export a 2d line drawing to AutoCAD. How would I go about this? > > Thanks
Distinguished Contributor
RUBE
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎12-09-2003
Message 3 of 6 (231 Views)

Re: Create Orthogonal Drawings from 3D models

06-07-2004 07:25 AM in reply to: spaceman
Dude take a class
Distinguished Contributor
JDMATHER
Posts: 4,994
Registered: ‎12-12-2003
Message 4 of 6 (231 Views)

Re: Create Orthogonal Drawings from 3D models

06-07-2004 09:26 AM in reply to: spaceman
You can set it up to create your views with just a couple of clicks.
Check the help screen for idw
Active Contributor
spaceman
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎04-23-2004
Message 5 of 6 (231 Views)

Re: Create Orthogonal Drawings from 3D models

06-08-2004 04:36 AM in reply to: spaceman
Thanks guys. New to Inventor and didn't realise I could import models to .idw (thought I could only "draw" in 2D).

I'll go and do the tutorial in the help file now that I know it is applicable.
Active Contributor
spaceman
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎04-23-2004
Message 6 of 6 (231 Views)

Re: Create Orthogonal Drawings from 3D models

06-08-2004 04:45 AM in reply to: spaceman
Sorry to waste your time "dude" (edited)<- I meant that in the nicest possible way.

I AM taking a course. Unfortunately the course is in AutoCAD. The lecturer realises that for some 3D models we may need to use other programs (for tools like lofting) and allows this. Unfortunately he can't tutor us in the other programs should we choose to utilise them. I chose to use the discussion group (on the off chance that somebody might answer) because I'd spent half an hour searching in the help files to no avail and it seemed like such an elementary problem that I didn't want to waste any more time on it.

You could have just written "idw" instead of that remark. (edited)
Message was edited by: AnneBrown
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.