Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Member
topcadgmbh
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-10-2012
Message 1 of 7 (1,774 Views)

CPU & Inventor 2012/2013

1774 Views, 6 Replies
06-10-2012 11:44 PM

Hi,

 

when I use a PC with more then one CPU can Inventor 2012/2013 use then all, or is it only running on one CPU?

 

BR

Tom

*Expert Elite*
sam_m
Posts: 638
Registered: ‎11-05-2003
Message 2 of 7 (1,767 Views)

Re: CPU & Inventor 2012/2013

06-11-2012 12:47 AM in reply to: topcadgmbh

For most of its use Inventor only uses 1 core.  The main things that take advantage of multiple cores/cpus are rendering, fea and with 2012 (and newer) each idw view is rendered/calculated with a separate core.

----------
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question...
but please understand that the solution may not be the answer you're wanting to hear...

If you have found any post to be helpful, even if it's not a direct solution, then please provide that author kudos - spread that love :smileyvery-happy:

Lithium - helping nntp users with mania, depression and headaches
*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,538
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 3 of 7 (1,739 Views)

Re: CPU & Inventor 2012/2013

06-11-2012 06:45 AM in reply to: sam_m

This isn't just an Inventor limitation, unless someone's come up with something new in the past few years that I didn't get the memo on. The problem is with any 3D CAD application, each feature in a model tree has to be fully computed before the next one can. Only one processor can work on a feature at a time, hence only one processor gets used.

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

*Expert Elite*
cwhetten
Posts: 1,090
Registered: ‎09-03-2008
Message 4 of 7 (1,712 Views)

Re: CPU & Inventor 2012/2013

06-11-2012 04:31 PM in reply to: sam_m

I don't think FEA uses multiple cores.  At least it doesn't when I use it (I REALLY wish it did...).  I've only ever seen it run 1.  Maybe it does in 2013, but not in 2012.

Employee
henderh
Posts: 651
Registered: ‎06-07-2007
Message 5 of 7 (1,710 Views)

Re: CPU & Inventor 2012/2013

06-11-2012 05:00 PM in reply to: cwhetten

I can confirm that R2013 FEA (Stress Analysis) can utilize as many cores as your machine has for meshing and solving.  It is managed by the Windows O/S multi-core technology.

 

Hope this helps!

 

Best regards, -Hugh



Hugh Henderson
Simulation QA Engineer
DLS
Contributor psp
Contributor
psp
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎11-19-2003
Message 6 of 7 (1,670 Views)

Re: CPU & Inventor 2012/2013

06-15-2012 04:17 AM in reply to: mrattray

I agree the limitation that each feature in a model tree has to be fully computed before the next one can.

But there are many other time consuming tasks that could be distributed to multiple cores. As an example I do a lot of configurations in Inventor where one skeleton part is derived into many parts.

When I make changes in the skeleton part, perhaps 100 parts should be updated in the assembly. Each part could easily be calculated in its own process.

Valued Mentor
stevec781
Posts: 691
Registered: ‎05-29-2009
Message 7 of 7 (1,620 Views)

Re: CPU & Inventor 2012/2013

06-18-2012 03:31 AM in reply to: psp

DSS have figured out how to use more than 1 core at part level iin Catia - so it is possible, the question is now how long will it take autodesk programmers to figure out how to do it.

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V4pS5kSBh6A

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.