Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

copy/pattern welds

11 REPLIES 11
Message 1 of 12
inventorguy
1071 Views, 11 Replies

copy/pattern welds

ok... so i have a cylender 1.5 inches in diameter and .75 inches tall i need to weld it to a plate (with the cylender standing upright so that the flat circular base is sitting on the plate) it is to be welded in 3 places with a fillet weld equally spaced at 120 degrees apart from center to center of the welds and the welds are each .5 inches long and .19 thick... heres the catch... one edge of the plate is flush or (tangent) with the cylendrical face so u cant weld there obviously... so the orientation of the welds matters... im new to using the weld feature on inventor and my problem is that when i use the fillet weld it seems inventor chooses where it wants to put these three welds... and i thought i could shift them one way or the other by using the "offset" but im not even sure what offset is for? i tried looking it up on help and in my book... and i cant seem to get the "to" "from" to work on this operation either... i can select somthing for the "from" but cant do anything to select a "to"... i have successfully gone to "preparation" and cut a chamfer in the cylender by rotating a triangular sketch 38.21656051 degrees from a plane i created in my desired location 38.21656051 degrees is what i calculated to be a .5 inch arc... i then went to welds and filled the chamfer cut out with weld using groove weld then put a fillet weld over that weld using the fillet weld...perfect!! all done... except that i have to go back and do this 2 more times for the weld 120 degrees from the first... and then go back and do it again for the 3rd weld... ok all done... perfect... except that i have 5 more cylenders to do... thats 15 sketchs... 15 rovolves for the