Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Anthony
Posts: 387
Registered: ‎10-03-2011
Message 1 of 6 (316 Views)

copy multiple objects

316 Views, 5 Replies
01-23-2013 04:17 AM

Is there a way to allow Inventor 2013 to copy multiple objects when executing the 'copy' command ? Similar to in AutoCAD where you can continue to copy objects in multiple instances instead of it terminated after a single copy ? Thanks

Anthony Goodwin ~ Cad Manager/Senior Designer
Autodesk Inventor Professional 2013 SP2 64-Bit Edition
Windows 7 HP Z400, Intel Xeon W3550 3.07GHz
12.0GB RAM, ATI FirePro V4800 (FireGL)
Distinguished Mentor
john.retzlaff
Posts: 920
Registered: ‎11-03-2003
Message 2 of 6 (305 Views)

Re: copy multiple objects

01-23-2013 05:31 AM in reply to: Anthony

Hold shift when selecting?

John Retzlaff
*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,883
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 3 of 6 (300 Views)

Re: copy multiple objects

01-23-2013 05:46 AM in reply to: Anthony

You haven't really given us enough information to be helpful, although John's reply might be exactly what you need.  The answer will be different depending on what the objects are that you are trying to copy.  Are you trying to copy components in an assembly?  Sketch elements in a part sketch?  Views in a drawing?

Sam B
Inventor 2012 Certified Professional

Please click "Accept as Solution" if this response answers your question.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Inventor Professional 2013 SP1.1 Update 1
Windows XP Pro 32-bit, SP3
HP EliteBook 8730w; 4 GB RAM; Core™ 2 Duo T9400 2.53 GHz; Quadro FX2700M
SpaceExplorer/SpaceNavigator NB, driver 3.7.18
still waiting for a foreshortened radius dimensioning tool in Drawing Manager

Distinguished Contributor
Anthony
Posts: 387
Registered: ‎10-03-2011
Message 4 of 6 (295 Views)

Re: copy multiple objects

01-23-2013 05:51 AM in reply to: sbixler

Thank you for your response. To clarify, I am copying components in an assembly using the simple 'copy' command from the drop down menu which is available when right click on the component to copy, thanks

Anthony Goodwin ~ Cad Manager/Senior Designer
Autodesk Inventor Professional 2013 SP2 64-Bit Edition
Windows 7 HP Z400, Intel Xeon W3550 3.07GHz
12.0GB RAM, ATI FirePro V4800 (FireGL)
*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,883
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 5 of 6 (280 Views)

Re: copy multiple objects

01-23-2013 08:31 AM in reply to: Anthony

Ctrl-click to multi-select, then copy.

Sam B
Inventor 2012 Certified Professional

Please click "Accept as Solution" if this response answers your question.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Inventor Professional 2013 SP1.1 Update 1
Windows XP Pro 32-bit, SP3
HP EliteBook 8730w; 4 GB RAM; Core™ 2 Duo T9400 2.53 GHz; Quadro FX2700M
SpaceExplorer/SpaceNavigator NB, driver 3.7.18
still waiting for a foreshortened radius dimensioning tool in Drawing Manager

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,602
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 6 of 6 (273 Views)

Re: copy multiple objects

01-23-2013 08:51 AM in reply to: sbixler

or

Ctrl click mutliple

or

Shift click first and last (all in between will be selected)

then click and drag one of the part icons into the graphics window and all will be copied.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.