Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Infoseeker
Posts: 195
Registered: ‎03-15-2012
Message 1 of 8 (273 Views)

Copy Desing error - "Invalid URI"

273 Views, 7 Replies
10-09-2012 08:46 AM

What is that?

Distinguished Contributor
Ryan.Martinez
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎07-29-2011
Message 2 of 8 (263 Views)

Re: Copy Desing error - "Invalid URI"

10-09-2012 09:18 AM in reply to: Infoseeker

Try a repair installation.

PDS 2014
PDS 2015
Distinguished Contributor
Infoseeker
Posts: 195
Registered: ‎03-15-2012
Message 3 of 8 (261 Views)

Re: Copy Desing error - "Invalid URI"

10-09-2012 09:20 AM in reply to: Infoseeker

What do you mean?

Distinguished Contributor
Ryan.Martinez
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎07-29-2011
Message 4 of 8 (255 Views)

Re: Copy Desing error - "Invalid URI"

10-09-2012 09:25 AM in reply to: Infoseeker

go to the control panel. Then right click on inventor and select uninstall/change

 

repair install1.PNG

 

Then you will see this

repair install2.jpgClick repair or reinstall

 

Let me know if it fixes it.

PDS 2014
PDS 2015
Distinguished Contributor
Infoseeker
Posts: 195
Registered: ‎03-15-2012
Message 5 of 8 (248 Views)

Re: Copy Desing error - "Invalid URI"

10-09-2012 10:12 AM in reply to: Ryan.Martinez

U think its Inventor, not part issue?

 

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,155
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 8 (240 Views)

Re: Copy Desing error - "Invalid URI"

10-09-2012 10:32 AM in reply to: Infoseeker

Looks like a generic error, you may be using an invalid character in your new part number. Stick with Alpha-Numeric with hyphen and underscore. Other characters will produce this type of error.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 340.52
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Distinguished Contributor
Infoseeker
Posts: 195
Registered: ‎03-15-2012
Message 7 of 8 (225 Views)

Re: Copy Desing error - "Invalid URI"

10-10-2012 03:31 PM in reply to: blair

I dont really use any other characters aside of the ones you mentioned, besides I assume that the characters that Inventor lets you to use naming your parts are the characters allowed.

Distinguished Contributor
Infoseeker
Posts: 195
Registered: ‎03-15-2012
Message 8 of 8 (224 Views)

Re: Copy Desing error - "Invalid URI"

10-10-2012 03:33 PM in reply to: Infoseeker

On the other hand it seems that the issue happens when copying big assemblies and maybe parts with long folder path. Although if a path is londer than allowed, there is a special message for that. :smileywink:.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.