Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Infoseeker
Posts: 195
Registered: ‎03-15-2012
Message 1 of 8 (294 Views)

Copy Desing error - "Invalid URI"

294 Views, 7 Replies
10-09-2012 08:46 AM

What is that?

Distinguished Contributor
Ryan.Martinez
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎07-29-2011
Message 2 of 8 (284 Views)

Re: Copy Desing error - "Invalid URI"

10-09-2012 09:18 AM in reply to: Infoseeker

Try a repair installation.

PDS 2014
PDS 2015
Distinguished Contributor
Infoseeker
Posts: 195
Registered: ‎03-15-2012
Message 3 of 8 (282 Views)

Re: Copy Desing error - "Invalid URI"

10-09-2012 09:20 AM in reply to: Infoseeker

What do you mean?

Distinguished Contributor
Ryan.Martinez
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎07-29-2011
Message 4 of 8 (276 Views)

Re: Copy Desing error - "Invalid URI"

10-09-2012 09:25 AM in reply to: Infoseeker

go to the control panel. Then right click on inventor and select uninstall/change

 

repair install1.PNG

 

Then you will see this

repair install2.jpgClick repair or reinstall

 

Let me know if it fixes it.

PDS 2014
PDS 2015
Distinguished Contributor
Infoseeker
Posts: 195
Registered: ‎03-15-2012
Message 5 of 8 (269 Views)

Re: Copy Desing error - "Invalid URI"

10-09-2012 10:12 AM in reply to: Ryan.Martinez

U think its Inventor, not part issue?

 

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,311
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 8 (261 Views)

Re: Copy Desing error - "Invalid URI"

10-09-2012 10:32 AM in reply to: Infoseeker

Looks like a generic error, you may be using an invalid character in your new part number. Stick with Alpha-Numeric with hyphen and underscore. Other characters will produce this type of error.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 344.60
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ
Distinguished Contributor
Infoseeker
Posts: 195
Registered: ‎03-15-2012
Message 7 of 8 (246 Views)

Re: Copy Desing error - "Invalid URI"

10-10-2012 03:31 PM in reply to: blair

I dont really use any other characters aside of the ones you mentioned, besides I assume that the characters that Inventor lets you to use naming your parts are the characters allowed.

Distinguished Contributor
Infoseeker
Posts: 195
Registered: ‎03-15-2012
Message 8 of 8 (245 Views)

Re: Copy Desing error - "Invalid URI"

10-10-2012 03:33 PM in reply to: Infoseeker

On the other hand it seems that the issue happens when copying big assemblies and maybe parts with long folder path. Although if a path is londer than allowed, there is a special message for that. :smileywink:.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!