Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Infoseeker
Posts: 195
Registered: ‎03-15-2012
Message 1 of 8 (302 Views)

Copy Desing error - "Invalid URI"

302 Views, 7 Replies
10-09-2012 08:46 AM

What is that?

Distinguished Contributor
Ryan.Martinez
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎07-29-2011
Message 2 of 8 (292 Views)

Re: Copy Desing error - "Invalid URI"

10-09-2012 09:18 AM in reply to: Infoseeker

Try a repair installation.

PDS 2014
PDS 2015
Distinguished Contributor
Infoseeker
Posts: 195
Registered: ‎03-15-2012
Message 3 of 8 (290 Views)

Re: Copy Desing error - "Invalid URI"

10-09-2012 09:20 AM in reply to: Infoseeker

What do you mean?

Distinguished Contributor
Ryan.Martinez
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎07-29-2011
Message 4 of 8 (284 Views)

Re: Copy Desing error - "Invalid URI"

10-09-2012 09:25 AM in reply to: Infoseeker

go to the control panel. Then right click on inventor and select uninstall/change

 

repair install1.PNG

 

Then you will see this

repair install2.jpgClick repair or reinstall

 

Let me know if it fixes it.

PDS 2014
PDS 2015
Distinguished Contributor
Infoseeker
Posts: 195
Registered: ‎03-15-2012
Message 5 of 8 (277 Views)

Re: Copy Desing error - "Invalid URI"

10-09-2012 10:12 AM in reply to: Ryan.Martinez

U think its Inventor, not part issue?

 

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,483
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 8 (269 Views)

Re: Copy Desing error - "Invalid URI"

10-09-2012 10:32 AM in reply to: Infoseeker

Looks like a generic error, you may be using an invalid character in your new part number. Stick with Alpha-Numeric with hyphen and underscore. Other characters will produce this type of error.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 344.75
SpacePilot Pro 10.2.0 / 17.2.0.11011 / 4.17
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ
Distinguished Contributor
Infoseeker
Posts: 195
Registered: ‎03-15-2012
Message 7 of 8 (254 Views)

Re: Copy Desing error - "Invalid URI"

10-10-2012 03:31 PM in reply to: blair

I dont really use any other characters aside of the ones you mentioned, besides I assume that the characters that Inventor lets you to use naming your parts are the characters allowed.

Distinguished Contributor
Infoseeker
Posts: 195
Registered: ‎03-15-2012
Message 8 of 8 (253 Views)

Re: Copy Desing error - "Invalid URI"

10-10-2012 03:33 PM in reply to: Infoseeker

On the other hand it seems that the issue happens when copying big assemblies and maybe parts with long folder path. Although if a path is londer than allowed, there is a special message for that. :smileywink:.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.