Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,651
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 11 of 16 (430 Views)

Re: conveyor belt animation

01-29-2013 08:49 AM in reply to: j_berry

Attach your assembly here.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Valued Contributor
j_berry
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎11-15-2012
Message 12 of 16 (426 Views)

Re: conveyor belt animation

01-29-2013 10:56 AM in reply to: JDMather

I was mistaken, I am having trouble with the Revolution joint showing up at all.

 

I attempted to set up something similar to the "Simulate a Sprocket Chain" in the Design of High-Speed Bottle Transfer Unit design problem, Younis 2011. The relevant files can be found at his website, http://vrblog.info/ all the way at the bottom under 2011 Exercises, Chapter 8.

 

I'm looking at the assembly "Simulating Sprocket Chain2.iam" and how Wasim inserts a guide cylinder (named "roller.ipt" in the assembly) and then applies a Revolution joint.

 

In my attached assembly I started something similar by adding a guide roller to the top of the cube. However, when I go to DS, a Revolution joint is not available from the drop down menu from the joint dialog box. Are joint types displayed dependent on what joints can be applied to the current geometry in the assembly? If so, what else do I need to add/remove/change in my assembly make a Revolution joint show up? If not, then why is Revolution joint showing up for Younis's assemblies but not showing up for my assembly?

 

EDIT: Just realized I had "Automatically convert constraints to joints" checked. I unchecked it and Revolution joint showed up, currently working on it...

Valued Contributor
j_berry
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎11-15-2012
Message 13 of 16 (413 Views)

Re: conveyor belt animation

01-29-2013 11:47 AM in reply to: JDMather

(Less confusing to double post than edit my last post.) Updated assembly and parts attached.

 

I messed around with the assembly some more. I was able to at least apply the Revolution joint and the Rolling: Cylinder Curve joints and also applied the desired velocity to the Revolution joint. The box randomly dances around the curve. I'm guessing this is because points on the box are not constrained to the loop, only the roller.

 

When I try to add a Sliding Point Curve joint to one of the corners of the box, the box will immediately move to a differrent part of the loop (still static, did not hit "play" on Simulation Player). When I do play the simulation, the box stays constrained to the loop (good), moves at the correct velocity (good), but displays the following error when it reaches a corner of the loop (not good):

 

DSerror.png

 

I have tried this with pointed edges (no fillet) and a variety of fillet radii ranging from 0.5in to 20in. Since I added the fillets, the error message goes away but now the box gets hung up at the corners and flickers back and forth, as if something is preventing it from moving.

 

Not sure how I can constrain this differently. I think the Sprocket chain example works because the round edges, or rather the centers of those arcs, are constrained to the sketch loop in "Simulating Sprocket Chain2.iam". My box does not have round edges or arc center points that can be constained to the loop.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,651
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 14 of 16 (404 Views)

Re: conveyor belt animation

01-29-2013 01:19 PM in reply to: j_berry

You seemed to get files mixed up in the folders attached, but what happens if you increase the number of calculations (say 10,000 instead of 1,000)?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Valued Contributor
j_berry
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎11-15-2012
Message 15 of 16 (400 Views)

Re: conveyor belt animation

01-29-2013 01:35 PM in reply to: JDMather

JDMather wrote:

You seemed to get files mixed up in the folders attached



Whoops, attached the wrong CUBE part file and somehow added another zip folder in there. Attached is the correct folder.

 


JDMather wrote:

... but what happens if you increase the number of calculations (say 10,000 instead of 1,000)?



Perfect. This works. I never thought I would be so happy to see a box go around a circle. Thank you very much.

 

I notice that if I remove a line from the loop, the animation not longer occurs. Just out of curiosity, is it possible to have an object move from point to point (and subsequently stop moving) on a sketched line? Or does it have to be a closed loop?

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,651
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 16 of 16 (389 Views)

Re: conveyor belt animation

01-29-2013 02:40 PM in reply to: j_berry

I think loop means closed loop, but what if you just made two parallel lines with really really small arcs connecting them?

BTW - I think you can also select part faces to define loops, I don't think you have to have a sketch.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.