Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Member
collinseric
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-28-2012
Message 1 of 8 (3,461 Views)

Converting a surface into a solid body

3461 Views, 7 Replies
09-28-2012 03:14 PM

I am trying to convert this composite surface into a single solid body, however when I try to stich the surfaces in the construction environment it always crashes. I have also tried edditing the STEP file import options but it still always opens as a composite surface.

 

Eric

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,046
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 8 (3,459 Views)

Re: Converting a surface into a solid body

09-28-2012 03:17 PM in reply to: collinseric

No file attached?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Member
collinseric
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-28-2012
Message 3 of 8 (3,454 Views)

Re: Converting a surface into a solid body

09-28-2012 03:20 PM in reply to: JDMather

I'm having touble uploading it... says the file size is too large... already compressd it in a zip. Solutions?

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,046
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 8 (3,448 Views)

Re: Converting a surface into a solid body

09-28-2012 03:24 PM in reply to: collinseric

Depends on where you have it.

In Inventor?

Drag the Red End of Part marker above the Composite body and nothing in Construction (or Repair) environment.

Save the file in a rolled up state and then zip.

If still larger than 1.5 meg the limit is 10Meg over here http://www.augi.com

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Member
collinseric
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-28-2012
Message 5 of 8 (3,436 Views)

Re: Converting a surface into a solid body

09-28-2012 03:48 PM in reply to: JDMather
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,046
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 6 of 8 (3,431 Views)

Re: Converting a surface into a solid body

09-28-2012 03:58 PM in reply to: collinseric

The most obvious question - Why would you even need that as solids?  Wouldn't you simply purchase from the company?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Distinguished Mentor
Distinguished Mentor
wh
Posts: 555
Registered: ‎12-27-2003
Message 7 of 8 (3,405 Views)

Betreff: Converting a surface into a solid body

09-29-2012 02:40 AM in reply to: collinseric

This seems to be a derived part from a SWX 2010 assembly, as can be seen in the translation report.

I've seen several similar parts, and most of them had lots of missing or distorted faces. SWX derived parts seem to be only minor quality.

 

With lots of spare time and some knowledge, you can rebuild these imports. But that's no fun.

 

Walter

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,046
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 8 of 8 (3,399 Views)

Re: Converting a surface into a solid body

09-29-2012 04:03 AM in reply to: JDMather

If you need to include in assembly drawing - simply tell Inventor to include surfaces.

If you want it to "appear" solid - right click and turn off Translucent.

 

If you reall want to take the time to convert to solids you will need to create Groups in Repair (Construction) environment and isolate the different parts into different groups.  Patch the missing surfaces, stitch and promote. (an all day job on this assembly)

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!