Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
zdhrichard
Posts: 128
Registered: ‎05-03-2011
Message 1 of 4 (696 Views)

Convert STEP model to IPT Issue

696 Views, 3 Replies
11-19-2012 07:40 AM

I knew this is not a new problem, and I do search some people's solution. Even I followed up their way as

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/Surface-Models-Convert-to-Solids/m-p/3452492/highlig...)

 

, but still I cannot get correct solid model when I try to convert attached STEP model to IPT. I just can get surface model, but I do not solid one.

 

Could somebody help me to convert it to solid model (ipt)?

 

Your help will be much appreciated.

Rich

Autodesk Inventor Professional 2014 (64 Bit Edition)
Build: 246, Release 2014 SP2 Update 2
Windows 7 Professional Service Pack 1
Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5645
12.0 GB Memory
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,228
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 4 (687 Views)

Re: Convert STEP model to IPT Issue

11-19-2012 08:07 AM in reply to: zdhrichard

There are many surfaces missing.
As this is simple geomtry - it might be fastest to simply redraw it using the original only for reference.

 

Why would you need it as a solid body - isn't this an off-the-shelf purchased item?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Valued Mentor
stephengibson76
Posts: 1,122
Registered: ‎08-01-2006
Message 3 of 4 (683 Views)

Re: Convert STEP model to IPT Issue

11-19-2012 08:13 AM in reply to: zdhrichard

looks like a lot of your holes thru the part need to be patched, you can either patch the surface hole and lose them in the solid, or you can draw a surface cylinder wetween each face where the holes occur...

 

Turning composite non transluccent might help you spot these problems

Stephen Gibson



View stephen gibson's profile on LinkedIn


Distinguished Contributor
zdhrichard
Posts: 128
Registered: ‎05-03-2011
Message 4 of 4 (668 Views)

Re: Convert STEP model to IPT Issue

11-19-2012 09:02 AM in reply to: zdhrichard

Thanks lot for your suggestion.

 

Unfortunately, this 3D model is provided by vendor.

 

Looks like I have to use surface model.

Rich

Autodesk Inventor Professional 2014 (64 Bit Edition)
Build: 246, Release 2014 SP2 Update 2
Windows 7 Professional Service Pack 1
Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5645
12.0 GB Memory
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.