Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
James__S
Posts: 176
Registered: ‎01-27-2014
Message 1 of 9 (169 Views)

content centre bolt

169 Views, 8 Replies
08-27-2014 12:55 AM

I have a 25mm bolt from the content centre.....how do i make it change from 25mm long to 22mm long

 

Also how do you add fillets to CC parts.I get an error message when trying to add fillets

 

Thanks

 

2013 CC bolt attached

Distinguished Mentor
ccarreiras
Posts: 974
Registered: ‎02-04-2010
Message 2 of 9 (149 Views)

Re: content centre bolt

08-27-2014 02:52 AM in reply to: James__S

Hi!

 

If you need to change a Standard size from a Content Center element, just select change size and pick one.

 

 

Clipboard01.png

 

If you need a size "Non Standard" for your assemblys, you have to place the element "As Custom". The element will be save in the project folder as a regular part and then you can edit.

Tip: you can quickly use the move face to change the bolt legth.

2.png

 

 

If you want to publish the "Non Standard" bolt, you can publish the edited element as a single part in the Content Center, or make a iPart with several members. Use the tool Component:

 

Clipboard03.png

 

 

Or you can copy the element in the Content Center and add the element to the family tree.

You can't edit Content Center elements, it's blocked, you need first copy the element you need to change and then make the edits.

 

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so, use the  Mark Solutions!  Accept as Solution or Give Kudos!Kudos - Thank you!

Regards.
CarlosC

Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk Factory Design Suite Ultimate 2015
Windows 7 64Bit
Distinguished Contributor
James__S
Posts: 176
Registered: ‎01-27-2014
Message 3 of 9 (145 Views)

Re: content centre bolt

08-27-2014 03:01 AM in reply to: ccarreiras

Hi

 

Thanks

 

The bolt i attached in the first post was saved as a Custom Bolt to my selected folder......i used the move face on the bolt so as to shorten by 3mm but i get errors...i also get errors when trying to add fillets..i must be doing something wrong 

 

Cheers

*Pro
ampster
Posts: 1,388
Registered: ‎07-26-2005
Message 4 of 9 (132 Views)

Re: content centre bolt

08-27-2014 05:11 AM in reply to: James__S

I'm using Inv 2015 so I won't be able to provide you with an updated part file.

 

It appears you already adjusted the length to 22mm in parameters.  You also need to adjust the thread length which was still set to something greater that 22mm.

 

I adjusted the thread length to 20.1731 and the part file updated without errors now, but I can't tell you if that is correct or not.  I simply subtracted the thread length difference from 25 to 22.

 

HTH

Distinguished Contributor
James__S
Posts: 176
Registered: ‎01-27-2014
Message 5 of 9 (107 Views)

Re: content centre bolt

08-29-2014 12:47 AM in reply to: ampster

thanks...i have the thread sorted but i still get an error if i place a fillet...how do i add a 0.5mm fillet as in the attached picture?

 

Cheers

 

James

2013

Distinguished Contributor
James__S
Posts: 176
Registered: ‎01-27-2014
Message 6 of 9 (88 Views)

Re: content centre bolt

08-29-2014 03:38 PM in reply to: James__S

Hi

 

This is the error i get when trying to add a fillet....does this suggest that the fillet cannot be applied?

Distinguished Mentor
ccarreiras
Posts: 974
Registered: ‎02-04-2010
Message 7 of 9 (70 Views)

Re: content centre bolt

08-29-2014 08:52 PM in reply to: James__S

Hi!

 

It's a lot easier if you place your ipt file instead the error messages...

 

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so, use the  Mark Solutions!  Accept as Solution or Give Kudos!Kudos - Thank you!

Regards.
CarlosC

Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk Factory Design Suite Ultimate 2015
Windows 7 64Bit
Distinguished Contributor
James__S
Posts: 176
Registered: ‎01-27-2014
Message 8 of 9 (65 Views)

Re: content centre bolt

08-29-2014 09:51 PM in reply to: ccarreiras

Thanks

Here is the .ipt file

Distinguished Mentor
Distinguished Mentor
wh
Posts: 592
Registered: ‎12-27-2003
Message 9 of 9 (53 Views)

Re: content centre bolt

08-29-2014 11:20 PM in reply to: James__S

Do this, James:

- In Browser, expand iMates

- Suppress InsertIn1

- Apply R 0,5 fillet

- Edit InsertIn1 and select new edge

- Unsuppress InsertIn1

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.