Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
BillPIII
Posts: 128
Registered: ‎12-09-2009
Message 1 of 7 (223 Views)
Accepted Solution

Content Center resolving after upgrade

223 Views, 6 Replies
04-24-2013 09:04 AM

I seem to work through this problem every year. It's enough to make me dred the upgrade but not enough to remember what I did to resolve it. What is the fastest way to get Inventor to find it's own parts after an upgrade? Why can't it do it?

*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,481
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 2 of 7 (206 Views)

Re: Content Center resolving after upgrade

04-24-2013 10:52 AM in reply to: BillPIII
Are your settings under Application Options>File correct?
Is your project file configured correctly and loaded?
Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Distinguished Contributor
BillPIII
Posts: 128
Registered: ‎12-09-2009
Message 3 of 7 (194 Views)

Re: Content Center resolving after upgrade

04-24-2013 01:28 PM in reply to: mrattray

It had been. I then upgraded and it seems lost. But this happens every upgrade. It doesn't seem to automatically update anything to the 2014 content center and doesn't seem to know or care where the 2013 content center is. And I don't really want to leave it attached to the old files. Just annoying things I need to remember every year and only use them once a year. Like the annoying fan out selection box is back. It would be nice if the upgrade could look at your previous settings.

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,061
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 7 (187 Views)

Re: Content Center resolving after upgrade

04-24-2013 01:56 PM in reply to: BillPIII

This is always a problem, but you do have to migrate your old IDCL files anyways. It location path only changes by the year of Inventor.

 

ProgramData>Autodesk>Inventor (year)>Content Center>Libraries:

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up2 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Distinguished Contributor
BillPIII
Posts: 128
Registered: ‎12-09-2009
Message 5 of 7 (171 Views)

Re: Content Center resolving after upgrade

04-25-2013 05:07 AM in reply to: BillPIII

Is there a better way to migrate than using "replace with content center"? Seems dumb to need to search for old parts in the new version using the same name it used in the old version in order to replace it with the same name in the new version. The content center always seemed to work backwards to me and the yearly game of 'pick up sticks' doesn't help.

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,061
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 7 (159 Views)

Re: Content Center resolving after upgrade

04-25-2013 08:58 AM in reply to: BillPIII
We always use the save as custom, which always brings them into my current work directory. Never have a problem with this. They get migrated with my files.
Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up2 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Distinguished Contributor
BillPIII
Posts: 128
Registered: ‎12-09-2009
Message 7 of 7 (151 Views)

Re: Content Center resolving after upgrade

04-25-2013 10:14 AM in reply to: blair

I just noticed that box today while replacing bolts and wondered if it did that. I think I'll use that from now on. Probably solves some other issues as well. Thanks.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.