Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
zma1013
Posts: 518
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 11 of 20 (1,553 Views)

Re: Content Center error "Unable to create component"

09-13-2010 01:32 PM in reply to: s.borisov

Do the parts in question happen to be linked to another family?  That was my problem.  After the 2011 install, I got the same error with some of my components and after searching and looking around and stuff, I eventually broke the links from the original family that the components were made from.  For whatever reason, all my CC parts work fine now.  You may just want to look into that as a solution, backing up your CC first of course in case you would want to return it to the normal state.

 

Just throwing that out there.

IV2012

Windows XP SP3 32-bit
Intel Core 2 Duo 6400 @ 2.13 GHz
Nvidia Quadro FX 3450/4000 SDI 256MB Vram
2 GB Ram
160GB HDD
Active Member
s.borisov
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-12-2010
Message 12 of 20 (1,530 Views)

Re: Content Center error "Unable to create component"

09-14-2010 08:19 AM in reply to: zma1013

I still have the problem. The Content Center practically is unusable for me:smileysad:

Distinguished Mentor
pauldoubet
Posts: 703
Registered: ‎10-11-2006
Message 13 of 20 (1,514 Views)

Re: Content Center error "Unable to create component"

09-14-2010 01:11 PM in reply to: s.borisov

I would recommend you try saving a CC part from a family you are having problems with using the 'As Custom' option and save the file to your Work Space. If you are successful doing this then I would suspect you do not have the correct permissions set for the directory you are attempting to save to with a 'Standard' CC part. I have seen the 'Unable to create Part' message previously if your Inventor directory for CC parts is located under the Program Files directory.

 

Hope this helps, Paul

Active Member
s.borisov
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-12-2010
Message 14 of 20 (1,497 Views)

Re: Content Center error "Unable to create component"

09-14-2010 09:50 PM in reply to: pauldoubet

The same result:smileysad: My CC directories are located in partition D:\Account name Documents\Inventor\Content Center Files\R2011

Mentor
RobJV
Posts: 543
Registered: ‎07-14-2004
Message 15 of 20 (1,485 Views)

Re: Content Center error "Unable to create component"

09-15-2010 10:05 AM in reply to: cwhetten

I have had the exact same error message come up for me in the past.  I am on Vault though.  My barbaric solution was to find the part and delete it in my Vault and then I was able to reinsert it into my assembly.

 

Probably does not help you because it sounds like your user is not using vault.

 

Rob

Active Member
s.borisov
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-12-2010
Message 16 of 20 (1,479 Views)

Re: Content Center error "Unable to create component"

09-15-2010 10:26 AM in reply to: RobJV

You're right Rob- I'm using Desktop, not Vault.

 

Stoyan

Active Member
s.borisov
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-12-2010
Message 17 of 20 (1,430 Views)

Re: Content Center error "Unable to create component"

09-20-2010 09:10 AM in reply to: s.borisov

Two months after the first post in this topic and the problem is still there:smileysad:

*Pro
Dennis_Jeffrey
Posts: 1,369
Registered: ‎12-15-2003
Message 18 of 20 (1,418 Views)

Re: Content Center error "Unable to create component"

09-20-2010 09:54 AM in reply to: s.borisov

Wild Shot.....   do you have Excel installed (what version please)?

 

Can you create an iPart?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
____________________________________________________________
Dennis Jeffrey, Author and Manufacturing Trainer, Autodesk Inventor Certified Expert
Autodesk Manufacturing Implementation Certified Expert
Autodesk Silver Manufacturing Partner

Subscribe to the free digital "The Creative Inventor Magazine" now available at: http://teknigroup....

XP64 SP2, GeForce 9800GT-1GB, Driver: 6.14.12.7061, 8GB Ram, AMD Athlon II 3.2 Ghz
Laptop: Win7-64 Pro, 4GB, ATI Graphics on board, 2012 Ultimate, IV2011 or 2010 Pro, all SP's
Active Member
s.borisov
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-12-2010
Message 19 of 20 (1,412 Views)

Re: Content Center error "Unable to create component"

09-20-2010 10:56 AM in reply to: Dennis_Jeffrey

Yes, I have Excel installed. It's a part from Office 2007 SP1 fully updated and I can create iParts.

Contributor
TOOCH
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-01-2010
Message 20 of 20 (1,294 Views)

Re: Content Center error "Unable to create component"

11-01-2010 07:55 AM in reply to: cwhetten

I had the same problem when I tried to place a content center part into an assembly, but I have located my prolem and that is empty fields in the Family table. I have created my own customized cc-parts and added an column with ordernumbers and not every dimension has one so I left them empty and that resulted in "unable to create component" for those who had empty fields.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.