Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Valued Mentor
mpatchus
Posts: 460
Registered: ‎10-22-2008
Message 1 of 9 (405 Views)
Accepted Solution

Content Center Characters

405 Views, 8 Replies
10-13-2012 07:34 AM

We have an extensive library of parts that we consistently utilize, but we do use Content Center for hardware and routed systems components.

 

All of our library parts have our company ERP's item number in the stock number iProperty, and the ERP's description in the Comments iProperty.

 

For CC items, we have added columns for these and mapped them to the appropriate iProperty.

 

Everything works great except for one thing.

 

Many of our ERP descriptions inlude inch marks, foot marks, and the & symbol.  For our normal library parts thhis is not an issue.  However, CC items utilize these characters differently.  The result is our descriptions come out different that what is entered.

See the example below...

cc description.JPG

 

Anyone have any idea how to include these characters in the CC descriptions?

Thanks

Mike Patchus

Inventor 2012 SP3 ~ Vault Pro 2013
==================
Lenovo D20 Workstation Intel Xenon E5640@2.67GHz (2)
Win 7, 24gb RAM, NVIDIA Quadro FX 3800

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below. :smileyhappy:
*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,034
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 9 (383 Views)

Re: Content Center Characters

10-14-2012 03:51 PM in reply to: mpatchus

You would need to copy the required CC libraries to your own read/write "My Library" and edit the columns for the CC parts to match your ERP system.

 

There is a good post a couple of weeks ago (search Stainless Steel Fittings} on how to do this.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up2 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Valued Mentor
mpatchus
Posts: 460
Registered: ‎10-22-2008
Message 3 of 9 (366 Views)

Re: Content Center Characters

10-15-2012 03:54 AM in reply to: blair

You missed the point of my post.

 

We have copies the libraries to our own Read/Write library.

The issue is actually editing the columns.

 

Here is the description entered into the column (cut & pasted from our ERP program.

CC Description pasted.JPG

 

After hitting OK and getting the family succesfully published message, if I go back into editing the family (or use the part in an assebmly), the description now reads...

CC Description Result.JPG

 

Noticed that it dropped the INCH MARK and the AMPERSAND symbols.

THIS IS THE ISSUE.

Mike Patchus

Inventor 2012 SP3 ~ Vault Pro 2013
==================
Lenovo D20 Workstation Intel Xenon E5640@2.67GHz (2)
Win 7, 24gb RAM, NVIDIA Quadro FX 3800

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below. :smileyhappy:
Product Support
jon.dean
Posts: 184
Registered: ‎06-02-2010
Message 4 of 9 (363 Views)

Re: Content Center Characters

10-15-2012 04:12 AM in reply to: mpatchus

I don't think it is possible, Inventor uses the special characters for string building.

I will do some testing.

Jon.



Jon Dean

Distinguished Mentor
pauldoubet
Posts: 703
Registered: ‎10-11-2006
Message 5 of 9 (352 Views)

Re: Content Center Characters

10-15-2012 04:48 AM in reply to: mpatchus

I just did a quick test and I am sure it is possible to include those characters in you CC descriptions. You will need to place the characters inside the double quote marks; i.e. {G_W}&"" x "&{G_L}&""". See the attached screen capture

 

Paul

 

 

Valued Mentor
mpatchus
Posts: 460
Registered: ‎10-22-2008
Message 6 of 9 (345 Views)

Re: Content Center Characters

10-15-2012 05:29 AM in reply to: pauldoubet

Well that would work with the inch marks... a real PITA but its a workaround.

Still have an issue with the "&" in the description though.

 

50027214 -  COUPLING,CONDUIT, RIGID & INTERMEDIATE, 1", FEMALE THD, ALUM, UL APPROVED

Mike Patchus

Inventor 2012 SP3 ~ Vault Pro 2013
==================
Lenovo D20 Workstation Intel Xenon E5640@2.67GHz (2)
Win 7, 24gb RAM, NVIDIA Quadro FX 3800

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below. :smileyhappy:
Distinguished Mentor
pauldoubet
Posts: 703
Registered: ‎10-11-2006
Message 7 of 9 (333 Views)

Re: Content Center Characters

10-15-2012 06:23 AM in reply to: mpatchus

PITA...actually the formula I showed is the standard method of creating intelligent part numbers, etc. in CC. The & is still a problem if used in a formula. It might be possible to use the & in a plain text column but if you try to use that text column as part of a formula you won't get the &..sorry I can't provide a solution for that at this point.

 

Paul

Product Support
jon.dean
Posts: 184
Registered: ‎06-02-2010
Message 8 of 9 (326 Views)

Re: Content Center Characters

10-15-2012 06:41 AM in reply to: pauldoubet

As Paul says, you can add the inch sign easily by placing it in quotes. The ampersand cannot be used, you will have to write it out in full or use a different character.

Jon.



Jon Dean

Valued Mentor
mpatchus
Posts: 460
Registered: ‎10-22-2008
Message 9 of 9 (322 Views)

Re: Content Center Characters

10-15-2012 07:03 AM in reply to: pauldoubet

The PITA part is that instead of simply copying and pasting the descriptions from our ERP, I have to read each description when pasting and look for an " mark, then manually enter an additional " mark next to it.

 

A real PITA when we are looking at over 5,000 Content Center items, and I have to do it for every single item.

Mike Patchus

Inventor 2012 SP3 ~ Vault Pro 2013
==================
Lenovo D20 Workstation Intel Xenon E5640@2.67GHz (2)
Win 7, 24gb RAM, NVIDIA Quadro FX 3800

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below. :smileyhappy:
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.