Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor JM.
Valued Contributor
JM.
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 1 of 10 (4,006 Views)
Accepted Solution

Constraint locks object

4006 Views, 9 Replies
01-10-2011 01:48 PM

When I add a single constraint to an object it locks in into position.  Also, non-related constraints are causing error messages (for example inserting a screw is causing an error in a flush constraint in non-related parts).  I had issues with this in the previous release of Inventor but have not had a problem with 2011.  This problem just occurred today - attempts to delete problem parts and rebuild the assembly does not resolve the issue.

 

Any suggestions as to the problem?

Problem seems to be rooted in bad frame drawings at the cad level.  I redid the vendor drawings by tracing the section outline using P-lines.  When these were extruded and imported into the assembly all the previous issues vanished and the window will now function properly.  

 

 

*Expert Elite*
dan_inv09
Posts: 2,318
Registered: ‎12-12-2006
Message 2 of 10 (3,991 Views)

Re: Constraint locks object

01-10-2011 04:39 PM in reply to: JM.

Suggestions:

 

1. Too much adaptivity - turn as much adaptivity as possible off (unless the latest constraint is supposed to affect it, it should not be adaptive at this time.)

 

2. Daisy chained assembly - Let's say part A is grounded and part B is constrained to it, then part C is constrained only to B, and D only to C etc. It's got to figure out each constraint and how it affects each other constraint and after a while it just gives up and parts you place don't want to move. Temporarily grounding some stuff near where the new stuff is going sometimes got it to work when I used to have this problem.

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,215
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 10 (3,989 Views)

Re: Constraint locks object

01-10-2011 04:53 PM in reply to: JM.

Look for a bad contraint somewhere in your assembly. It could be in a sub-assembly as well.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 340.52
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ
Valued Contributor JM.
Valued Contributor
JM.
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 4 of 10 (3,948 Views)

Re: Constraint locks object

01-11-2011 07:51 AM in reply to: JM.

Rather than chase through all the constraints I have decided to rebuild the object (sliding window) in a new assembly (I changed the frame parts to a new profile which created the constraint crash).  Now if I add a constraint I cannot move the object, however additional constraints will work to properly align the object.  I seem to remember this happening before as well and it was a matter of a setting being changed but of coarse I cannot remember where of if this was in fact the problem. Have you experienced this issue?

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,459
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 5 of 10 (3,945 Views)

Re: Constraint locks object

01-11-2011 07:57 AM in reply to: JM.

Zip and attach your assembly here.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Valued Contributor JM.
Valued Contributor
JM.
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 6 of 10 (3,933 Views)

Re: Constraint locks object

01-11-2011 08:44 AM in reply to: JM.

It won't let me send the file at 3.2 MB, I am trying to eliminate as much stuff as possible but still keep enough stuff to demonstrate the problem.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,459
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 7 of 10 (3,922 Views)

Re: Constraint locks object

01-11-2011 09:22 AM in reply to: JM.

Roll up the EOPs to make the ipts smaller before zipping.

I suspect you should be able to isolate the problem to two or three parts in the assembly.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Valued Contributor JM.
Valued Contributor
JM.
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 8 of 10 (3,901 Views)

Re: Constraint locks object

01-11-2011 11:49 AM in reply to: JM.

Attached file.  Oddly enough I can't even get the constraints to work on these three pieces even though I had assembled it earlier in the day.  All that is missing is a flush constraint so that all the parts line up.

 

This project seems to be the only one that will not work.  Other window (larger) window drawings still work fine.

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,215
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 9 of 10 (3,896 Views)

Re: Constraint locks object

01-11-2011 11:54 AM in reply to: JM.

Works fine here

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 340.52
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ
Valued Contributor JM.
Valued Contributor
JM.
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 10 of 10 (3,871 Views)

Re: Constraint locks object

01-12-2011 08:56 AM in reply to: JM.

Problem seems to be rooted in bad frame drawings at the cad level.  I redid the vendor drawings by tracing the section outline using P-lines.  When these were extruded and imported into the assembly all the previous issues vanished and the window will now function properly.  

 

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.