Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
codyc-9096
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎11-25-2010
Message 1 of 9 (418 Views)

Constrain User Defined Symbols within Drawing

418 Views, 8 Replies
10-11-2012 02:33 PM

I have created various symbols to be placed into drawings when required, rather than having to re-create the same sketch everytime the drawing is produced.

 

When I place the symbol I am given the option to select where to insert it, based on the insertion point.

The problem is... once the symbol is placed there is no way (that I can figure out) to constrain to the view or dimension to it.

 

Does anyone know how to fix this? Surely there has to be a way...

Thank You,
- Cody C
Distinguished Mentor
john.retzlaff
Posts: 947
Registered: ‎11-03-2003
Message 2 of 9 (392 Views)

Re: Constrain User Defined Symbols within Drawing

10-12-2012 07:04 AM in reply to: codyc-9096

I don't know of any way to do what you are asking, if I understand correctly.

Could you post an example of what you are trying to do?

John Retzlaff
Active Contributor
codyc-9096
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎11-25-2010
Message 3 of 9 (373 Views)

Re: Constrain User Defined Symbols within Drawing

10-12-2012 01:07 PM in reply to: john.retzlaff

John,

 

Thank You for your reply. I have attached a step-by-step that hopefully better explains what I am trying to do.

 

Thanks again.

Thank You,
- Cody C
Distinguished Mentor
john.retzlaff
Posts: 947
Registered: ‎11-03-2003
Message 4 of 9 (370 Views)

Re: Constrain User Defined Symbols within Drawing

10-12-2012 01:12 PM in reply to: codyc-9096

As far as I know, you can only attach the leader to an object in a view, there is no way to specify an offset or dimension the sketched symbol.

 

Maybe you can do what you want with sketch blocks?

John Retzlaff
Distinguished Mentor
john.retzlaff
Posts: 947
Registered: ‎11-03-2003
Message 5 of 9 (362 Views)

Re: Constrain User Defined Symbols within Drawing

10-12-2012 01:28 PM in reply to: codyc-9096

The only solution I could come up with is to do your symbol in Autocad as a block, then add a sketch to the view you want the symbol on and insert the Autocad block into the sketch.

 

Then you should be able to dimension from geometry projected from the view to the Autocad block.

 

Just a thought.

 

Good luck!

John Retzlaff
*Expert Elite*
Curtis_Waguespack
Posts: 3,000
Registered: ‎03-08-2006
Message 6 of 9 (357 Views)

Re: Constrain User Defined Symbols within Drawing

10-12-2012 01:35 PM in reply to: codyc-9096

Hi codyc-9096,

 

Unless I'm misunderstanding, you should be able to define Insert and Connection point for your symbols to assist with this. You can add sketch points, or use existing endpoint of lines for this.

 

Autodesk Inventor Insert and Connection Points.png

 

Autodesk Inventor Insert and Connection Points-2.png

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com



  solution.png  Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or  Kudos button below.





Active Contributor
codyc-9096
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎11-25-2010
Message 7 of 9 (352 Views)

Re: Constrain User Defined Symbols within Drawing

10-12-2012 01:39 PM in reply to: john.retzlaff

I am not familiat with Sketch Blocks, but just read through the wiki help on them...

 

I am not sure how that would help me, as I am looking to show the symbol in the drawing... unless I am not understanding it correctly.

I will try out your suggestion with the AutoCAD block.

Thank You,
- Cody C
Active Contributor
codyc-9096
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎11-25-2010
Message 8 of 9 (350 Views)

Re: Constrain User Defined Symbols within Drawing

10-12-2012 01:40 PM in reply to: Curtis_Waguespack

Curtis,

 

I have tried your suggestion... those "grips" are only used for the insertion and selecting of the symbol.

They do not allow you to dimension to or constrain to these points.

Thank You,
- Cody C
Distinguished Mentor
john.retzlaff
Posts: 947
Registered: ‎11-03-2003
Message 9 of 9 (349 Views)

Re: Constrain User Defined Symbols within Drawing

10-12-2012 01:41 PM in reply to: codyc-9096

I was thinking you might be able to use a sketch block on a sketch attached to the drawing view, but I see that is not an option.

John Retzlaff
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.