Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Member
nick307
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-09-2013
Message 1 of 8 (227 Views)

COG update

227 Views, 7 Replies
12-04-2013 02:17 AM

Hey guys!

 

Is it possible to get the COG to update its self automatically when I change an assembly / part without having to turn it on and off again? At the moment, as soon as I change a part it just goes grey and has absolutely no use (shows where the COG was, but not is). Obviously this is a bit pointless, so is there a way to make the COG automatically update without any input from me?

 

I know I must seem really lazy with this, but its just been getting on my nervs a lot recently!

 

Nick

Valued Mentor
mpatchus
Posts: 464
Registered: ‎10-22-2008
Message 2 of 8 (217 Views)

Re: COG update

12-04-2013 04:08 AM in reply to: nick307

It should update as soon as you do a save.

Mike Patchus

Inventor 2012 SP3 ~ Vault Pro 2013
==================
Lenovo D20 Workstation Intel Xenon E5640@2.67GHz (2)
Win 7, 24gb RAM, NVIDIA Quadro FX 3800

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below. :smileyhappy:
Member
nick307
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-09-2013
Message 3 of 8 (208 Views)

Re: COG update

12-04-2013 05:16 AM in reply to: mpatchus

Hi Mike,

 

I have tried saving it but it doesn't update the COG.

 

Am I just mistakeing the colour change for meaning out of date when it means something else? As soon as anything changes it goes grey as opposed to red/green/blue/yellow.

 

Nick

Valued Mentor
mpatchus
Posts: 464
Registered: ‎10-22-2008
Message 4 of 8 (207 Views)

Re: COG update

12-04-2013 05:17 AM in reply to: nick307

Hmmm   mine updates as soon as I do a save on the assembly.

Mike Patchus

Inventor 2012 SP3 ~ Vault Pro 2013
==================
Lenovo D20 Workstation Intel Xenon E5640@2.67GHz (2)
Win 7, 24gb RAM, NVIDIA Quadro FX 3800

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below. :smileyhappy:
*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,493
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 5 of 8 (180 Views)

Re: COG update

12-04-2013 09:49 AM in reply to: nick307

There's no way that I know of to make it update automatically. You can try suggesting a change to it's behavior here (I would vote for it): Inventor IdeaStation

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Distinguished Contributor
nmunro
Posts: 144
Registered: ‎10-20-2001
Message 6 of 8 (162 Views)

Re: COG update

12-04-2013 05:29 PM in reply to: nick307

Tools > Application Options

 

Physical properties include COG.

 

cog-on-save.png

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,093
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 8 (152 Views)

Re: COG update

12-04-2013 07:52 PM in reply to: nmunro

possible through iLogic.....:smileyhappy:

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up2 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Employee
t_stramr
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎08-15-2011
Message 8 of 8 (108 Views)

Re: COG update

12-18-2013 04:43 AM in reply to: nick307

Hi Nick,

 

Updating an assembly doesn't update COG automatically. As COG point is part of Mass properties calculation(what can be time consuming operation), Inventor doesn't recalculate mass props together with assembly update. You can specify recalculation of Mass props on document save or you can do it manually by executing command Update Mass which is on Manage ribbon. Updating Mass props makes COG valid again.

 

Robert

 

Mass1.png

 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.