Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Member
M1shap
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-26-2012
Message 1 of 4 (244 Views)

Change Content Centre Bolt description

244 Views, 3 Replies
12-12-2012 09:04 PM

Hi people, I realise this has been asked a billion times before but i am still having trouble & want to know if what i am trying to do is possible.

I want to change the description of a bolt to be "M(bolt size) bolt. then add the length in another column. example M10 bolt

 

I want to know if it is possible to do this using the Family Properties & changing the "Family Description" to something like M=<NND> BOLT. i have tried but had no luck as it only comes back with "M Bolt" & no diameter 

 

I hope that someone can tell me if this is possible or another way to make it populate a BOM easily.

Thanks :smileyhappy:

Valued Contributor
streharg
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎09-24-2012
Message 2 of 4 (230 Views)

Re: Change Content Centre Bolt description

12-13-2012 03:05 AM in reply to: M1shap

Yes you can!

 

That's the code used in DIN library:

"M" & {NND} & " x " & {NLG}

 

Which gives you this:

M 12X 30

 

So if you want this:

M10 bolt

 

You should use somethig like this:

"M" & {NND} & " Bolt "

 

For lenght, just use {NLG} where you need it. It already has column (nominal lenght)

 

Hope i was clear enough!

 

Greg

 

Factory design suite 2013 premium
Some old workstation ...
Fancy HP LCD
:smileyhappy:
Member
M1shap
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-26-2012
Message 3 of 4 (202 Views)

Re: Change Content Centre Bolt description

12-13-2012 05:02 PM in reply to: streharg

i worked it out that i need to create a custom  column & add the equation as you said "M" & {NND} & "BOLT". so it works but the issue i have now is that there are no spaces it looks like this in BOM. M10BOLT i have put spaces n & it does nothing can anyone tell me what is going on or if it is just an issue with INV2012. 

 

Valued Contributor
streharg
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎09-24-2012
Message 4 of 4 (188 Views)

Re: Change Content Centre Bolt description

12-13-2012 11:41 PM in reply to: M1shap

For spaces, just add  & " " &.

 

You should use somethig like this:

"M" & " " & {NND} &" "& "Bolt "

Factory design suite 2013 premium
Some old workstation ...
Fancy HP LCD
:smileyhappy:
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!