Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Valued Mentor
jeanchile
Posts: 724
Registered: ‎11-10-2009
Message 1 of 8 (1,403 Views)
Accepted Solution

Change a Read Only CC file to Read/Write?

1403 Views, 7 Replies
09-06-2011 06:38 AM

Hello all,

 

I created a custom content center library a while back using 2010. I need to edit members in that file but now my custom content center file is listed as read only and I can't seem to change it. I'm not sure how it changed but I am assuming my upgrade to 2011 a long while back created this issue.

 

How do I get the read/write capability back?

Inventor Professional 2013 (SP-2.3), Product Design Suite Ultimate
Desktop: Intel Core i7 3.4GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate SP-1, 64-bit OS, (2) GeForce GTX 580 (331.81), Space Pilot Pro (3.16.1)
Laptop: Intel Core i7 3.9GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Pro SP-1, 64-bit OS, GeForce GTX 780 (331.81), SpaceNavigator (3.17.7)
*Expert Elite*
MariaManuela
Posts: 869
Registered: ‎12-04-2003
Message 2 of 8 (1,393 Views)

Re: Change a Read Only CC file to Read/Write?

09-06-2011 07:10 AM in reply to: jeanchile

Its a Server or Desktop library?

 

You already try in Server Console?

From computer's Start menu Select Programs > Autodesk > Autodesk Data Management > Autodesk ADMS Console

Maria Manuela Pinho
Application Specialist
Cadtech / Asidek - Autodesk Gold Partner
Autodesk Inventor Professional 2015 | Lenovo W520
Valued Mentor
jeanchile
Posts: 724
Registered: ‎11-10-2009
Message 3 of 8 (1,372 Views)

Re: Change a Read Only CC file to Read/Write?

09-06-2011 08:44 AM in reply to: MariaManuela

MariaManuela wrote:

Its a Server or Desktop library?

 



I apologize, I should have addressed this in the OP. It's a desktop library, I am not using ADMS or Vault.

Inventor Professional 2013 (SP-2.3), Product Design Suite Ultimate
Desktop: Intel Core i7 3.4GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate SP-1, 64-bit OS, (2) GeForce GTX 580 (331.81), Space Pilot Pro (3.16.1)
Laptop: Intel Core i7 3.9GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Pro SP-1, 64-bit OS, GeForce GTX 780 (331.81), SpaceNavigator (3.17.7)
Product Support
alessandro.gasso
Posts: 326
Registered: ‎06-10-2010
Message 4 of 8 (1,358 Views)

Re: Change a Read Only CC file to Read/Write?

09-06-2011 09:10 AM in reply to: jeanchile

Did you migrate the custom library correctly from R2010 to R2011 following the steps you can see in the post below?

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/Transfer-custom-library-to-from-Inventor-2011-to-Inv...

 

If yes, does your library appear without any exclamation mark in the Configure Library dialog of the project?

 

If yes, if you browse to the Desktop Content location, select the idcl file corresponding to your library, right- click on it, Properties, is the Read-only box checked?

If yes, please, uncheck it and the problem should be solved.

 

If not, from the Configure Library dialog, create a new library.

Is the new library Read only as well?

 

Thanks and regards,

Alessandro



Alessandro Gasso
Product Support Technical Lead
MFG - Inventor
Autodesk, Inc.
*Expert Elite*
MariaManuela
Posts: 869
Registered: ‎12-04-2003
Message 5 of 8 (1,357 Views)

Re: Change a Read Only CC file to Read/Write?

09-06-2011 09:14 AM in reply to: jeanchile

Ok..

How you migrated your library?

Try to access to your libraries location and change the libraries properties (uncheck the Read-Only option)

see the image

 

Maria Manuela Pinho
Application Specialist
Cadtech / Asidek - Autodesk Gold Partner
Autodesk Inventor Professional 2015 | Lenovo W520
Valued Mentor
jeanchile
Posts: 724
Registered: ‎11-10-2009
Message 6 of 8 (1,342 Views)

Re: Change a Read Only CC file to Read/Write?

09-06-2011 10:31 AM in reply to: alessandro.gasso

alessandro.gasso wrote:

Did you migrate the custom library correctly from R2010 to R2011 following the steps you can see in the post below?

 


Yes


alessandro.gasso wrote:

If yes, does your library appear without any exclamation mark in the Configure Library dialog of the project?

 


Yes


alessandro.gasso wrote:

If yes, if you browse to the Desktop Content location, select the idcl file corresponding to your library, right- click on it, Properties, is the Read-only box checked?


No, it is unchecked

 


alessandro.gasso wrote:

If not, from the Configure Library dialog, create a new library.

Is the new library Read only as well?

 


No, any newly created library is labeled Read/Write.

 

Thank you for the help. Have you got anything else?


 

 

 

 

Inventor Professional 2013 (SP-2.3), Product Design Suite Ultimate
Desktop: Intel Core i7 3.4GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate SP-1, 64-bit OS, (2) GeForce GTX 580 (331.81), Space Pilot Pro (3.16.1)
Laptop: Intel Core i7 3.9GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Pro SP-1, 64-bit OS, GeForce GTX 780 (331.81), SpaceNavigator (3.17.7)
Valued Mentor
coreyparks
Posts: 485
Registered: ‎06-07-2010
Message 7 of 8 (1,335 Views)

Re: Change a Read Only CC file to Read/Write?

09-06-2011 11:45 AM in reply to: jeanchile

This happens here as well.  I have narrowed it down to our change from Windows xp to Windows 7 64 bit.  In this change we started using the UAC and we have now had local admin rights taken away from us.  In order for us to edit any content center libraries we need to have local admin rights and we need to turn the UAC off.  Our files are located on the server as well.  Do you have local admin and UAC turned off already?  If not can you turn them off?  Good luck.

Please mark this response "Accept as solution" if it answers your question.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Corey Parks
IV2014 Factory Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Synergis Adept document management software
16gb RAM --- Nvidia Quadro 4000 2gb
Valued Mentor
jeanchile
Posts: 724
Registered: ‎11-10-2009
Message 8 of 8 (1,303 Views)

Re: Change a Read Only CC file to Read/Write?

09-06-2011 08:35 PM in reply to: coreyparks

coreyparks wrote:

...I have narrowed it down to our change from Windows xp to Windows 7 64 bit. ....  Do you have local admin and UAC turned off already? 


 

Thank you Corey! You are a champion and have won the grand prize. Go tell your boss I said to give you a raise! We too have upgraded our OS in the same fashion. Luckily, I have admin rights, but unfortunately, I have to change my UAC setting every time I need to edit our CC library which blows. :smileysad:

 

Now if I can just figure out how to get my CC files to not save with that stupid icon and use my last model view by default....

 

Inventor Professional 2013 (SP-2.3), Product Design Suite Ultimate
Desktop: Intel Core i7 3.4GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate SP-1, 64-bit OS, (2) GeForce GTX 580 (331.81), Space Pilot Pro (3.16.1)
Laptop: Intel Core i7 3.9GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Pro SP-1, 64-bit OS, GeForce GTX 780 (331.81), SpaceNavigator (3.17.7)
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.