Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
Namoi1
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎08-27-2013
Message 1 of 14 (350 Views)

centre lines across 2 views (one with a break) go skew

350 Views, 13 Replies
11-25-2013 09:31 PM

If I've got a centerline in a drawing created from a cirlce in one view and the corresponding rectancle in the projected view, then break the projected view the centre mark from the first view moves off centre.

 

Also dimensioning from the centre line to a line in the projected views (not necessarily broken) doesn't work.

 

I know I can use bisect centre line and stretch it to meet a centre mark in the base view but every time i move the view I've got to adjust it.  It's what I'm doing now but it's a bit of a pain.

 

Any better solutions to this, as I think this is a fairly basic feature of drawings, and should be as straight forward as can be.  Thanks if I get a response, but I don't think I will

using IV2015
C-H
Active Contributor
Namoi1
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎08-27-2013
Message 2 of 14 (301 Views)

Re: centre lines across 2 views (one with a break) go skew

12-18-2013 09:57 PM in reply to: Namoi1

here's a pic of what happens

using IV2015
C-H
*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,488
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 14 (290 Views)

Re: centre lines across 2 views (one with a break) go skew

12-18-2013 10:46 PM in reply to: Namoi1

You would need to "anchor" the line to geomtry in the view to keep it moving with the view as the break shifts the items.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 344.75
SpacePilot Pro 10.2.0 / 17.2.0.11011 / 4.17
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ
Active Contributor
Namoi1
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎08-27-2013
Message 4 of 14 (262 Views)

Re: centre lines across 2 views (one with a break) go skew

12-19-2013 02:29 PM in reply to: blair
how the hell did you think I created the centerline to start with??? I picked geometry of course, if that doesn't anchor it enough I don't know what they expect!
using IV2015
C-H
*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,488
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 14 (249 Views)

Re: centre lines across 2 views (one with a break) go skew

12-19-2013 05:33 PM in reply to: Namoi1

Select the view, then create new sketch, Project one of the vertical lines, then create a horizontal line from the midpoint of the projected vertical line. Change the line-type of the line construction or center and drag it long enough to get over to the next view.

 

Don't know how else to get a line from one view to another view in Inventor as each view is it's own.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 344.75
SpacePilot Pro 10.2.0 / 17.2.0.11011 / 4.17
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ
Active Contributor
Namoi1
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎08-27-2013
Message 6 of 14 (245 Views)

Re: centre lines across 2 views (one with a break) go skew

12-19-2013 08:32 PM in reply to: blair
well when annotating and applying centerlines I just select the cirlce in one view and the projected line of the circle in the projected view, it automatically finds the midpoint of the line. This works fine, except when you break a view as you can see in the pic.
using IV2015
C-H
Active Contributor
Namoi1
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎08-27-2013
Message 7 of 14 (169 Views)

Re: centre lines across 2 views (one with a break) go skew

01-06-2014 05:06 PM in reply to: Namoi1

test post to see if it shows up

using IV2015
C-H
Active Contributor
Namoi1
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎08-27-2013
Message 8 of 14 (167 Views)

Re: centre lines across 2 views (one with a break) go skew

01-06-2014 05:11 PM in reply to: Namoi1

here is a screen capture of what I'm doing and what the problems are.

using IV2015
C-H
*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,488
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 9 of 14 (147 Views)

Re: centre lines across 2 views (one with a break) go skew

01-07-2014 09:07 AM in reply to: Namoi1
I have never seen the methodology you are using in using centerlines from one view to another view. Possibly this is something you have carried over from AutoCAD days. This could very well be the route of your problem. Just because Inventor lets you do it, doesn't mean that it's a solid practice. I think the centerline from view to view is what's causing your problems. I don't have the CAD standard in front of me, but it's not considered proper to have lines run from view to view. Each view should stand on it's own.
Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 344.75
SpacePilot Pro 10.2.0 / 17.2.0.11011 / 4.17
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ
Active Contributor
Namoi1
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎08-27-2013
Message 10 of 14 (138 Views)

Re: centre lines across 2 views (one with a break) go skew

01-07-2014 02:26 PM in reply to: blair

Blair

 

here are a couple of examples from Australian Standards, which are based o ISO virtually word for word.

As you can see it isn't forbidden, I think it is actaully much more logical to do it it some instances.

 

It's not really a carry over from AutoCAD as I have only really used Inventor, (tiny bit of AutoCAD), do do actual drafting.

 

Like I've said before I understand fully that the views are totally separate entities, and it is probably a bit of a pain in the arse to get them to talk to each other, in order to do this (don't know why they didn't do it in the first place, there must be some relation, as the projected view needs to refernce the base view anyhow).

using IV2015
C-H
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.