Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
New Member
groatski
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-15-2013
Message 1 of 4 (171 Views)

Centerlines in section views of partial cylindrical parts.

171 Views, 3 Replies
07-15-2013 01:15 PM

I'm currently detailing a part that's about one-third of a cylindrical piece (the part is lathed as a whole and cut into thirds). I'm trying to project the centerline onto the section view so I can ordinate dimension to it.  I cannot figure out how it's done. Please see attached image file.

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,346
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 2 of 4 (165 Views)

Re: Centerlines in section views of partial cylindrical parts.

07-15-2013 01:24 PM in reply to: groatski

Welcome to the forum,

Did you try using this command in your drawing?

 

CL.PNG

 

check.PNGIf this solved your issue please mark this posting "Accept as Solution".

Or if you like something that was said and it was helpful, Kudoskudos.PNG are appreciated. Thanks!!!! :smileyvery-happy:

 

New EE Logo.PNG

Inventor.PNG     vault.PNG

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2014
(Colossians 3:23-25)

New Member
groatski
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-15-2013
Message 3 of 4 (156 Views)

Re: Centerlines in section views of partial cylindrical parts.

07-15-2013 01:44 PM in reply to: groatski

That worked for the top view, but not for the sectioned view.  Unless I'm doing something wrong.

Valued Mentor
rhasell
Posts: 329
Registered: ‎05-23-2007
Message 4 of 4 (133 Views)

Re: Centerlines in section views of partial cylindrical parts.

07-15-2013 04:35 PM in reply to: Cadmanto

What you could do is "Include" and Existing Work feature, (Workplane/ Axis)

 

- Expand the tree of the selected view

- Expand the Origin Work features

- RMB on the work axis and select "Include"

 

If the Origins are in the wrong place, go and make an Axis and use that.

 

include axis.PNG


Reg
Autodesk PDS Ultimate 2015 SP 1 Build 203
Intel Core i7 (950@3.07GHz)/Win7x64 (Home) - 12GB Ram
Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti
 
Please Give Kudo's / accept as a solution if it solves your problem.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!