Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
*J, Dave
Message 1 of 12 (58 Views)

CATIA ----> IV

58 Views, 11 Replies
11-25-2002 09:25 PM
What is the best format to export CATIA to to be able to read it as a solid in
IV? I would guess STEP, but our customer is saying that's not even possible. Is
he lying? Thanks.

--
Dave Jacquemotte
davej@autoconcorp.com
*Dotson, Sean
Message 2 of 12 (58 Views)

Re: CATIA ----> IV

11-25-2002 09:36 PM in reply to: *J, Dave
I have to believe that Catia supports either STEP or SAT...

--
Sean Dotson, PE
http://www.sdotson.com
...sleep is for the weak..
-----------------------------------------
"Dave J" wrote in message
news:EF625E356DBB38F93EA99379B51E4263@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
>
> What is the best format to export CATIA to to be able to read it as a
solid in
> IV? I would guess STEP, but our customer is saying that's not even
possible. Is
> he lying? Thanks.
>
> --
> Dave Jacquemotte
> davej@autoconcorp.com
>
>
>
*Fulford, Drew
Message 3 of 12 (58 Views)

Re: CATIA ----> IV

11-25-2002 10:10 PM in reply to: *J, Dave
Your customer will need to have step writer for catia which is expensive. He
probably doesnt have this.

Failing that route, you can use Elysium Inc's http://www.elysiuminc.com/
catia<->IV translator which i have had great success with, however it too is
expensive. So the question really is, who do you want to spend the money,
you or your customer.

- drew
--
Drew Fulford B.A.Sc. Systems Engineer
Solid Caddgroup Inc. Burlington, Ontario
Tel: (905)331-9670, Fax: (905)331-7280
Corporate: http://www.solidcadcam.com/

Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
Visit my MCAD website @ http://www.mymcad.com/



"Dave J" wrote in message
news:EF625E356DBB38F93EA99379B51E4263@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
>
> What is the best format to export CATIA to to be able to read it as a
solid in
> IV? I would guess STEP, but our customer is saying that's not even
possible. Is
> he lying? Thanks.
>
> --
> Dave Jacquemotte
> davej@autoconcorp.com
>
>
>
*J, Dave
Message 4 of 12 (58 Views)

Re:

11-25-2002 10:10 PM in reply to: *J, Dave
The customer has told us they can write out to IGES as either wireframe or
"faces". Will either/both of these import into IV or MDT?

--
Dave Jacquemotte
davej@autoconcorp.com


"Drew Fulford" wrote in message
news:A22815A59C57014A1B89E015850EC967@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Your customer will need to have step writer for catia which is expensive. He
> probably doesnt have this.
>
> Failing that route, you can use Elysium Inc's http://www.elysiuminc.com/
> catia<->IV translator which i have had great success with, however it too is
> expensive. So the question really is, who do you want to spend the money,
> you or your customer.
>
> - drew
> --
> Drew Fulford B.A.Sc. Systems Engineer
> Solid Caddgroup Inc. Burlington, Ontario
> Tel: (905)331-9670, Fax: (905)331-7280
> Corporate: http://www.solidcadcam.com/
>
> Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
> Visit my MCAD website @ http://www.mymcad.com/
>
>
>
> "Dave J" wrote in message
> news:EF625E356DBB38F93EA99379B51E4263@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> >
> > What is the best format to export CATIA to to be able to read it as a
> solid in
> > IV? I would guess STEP, but our customer is saying that's not even
> possible. Is
> > he lying? Thanks.
> >
> > --
> > Dave Jacquemotte
> > davej@autoconcorp.com
> >
> >
> >
>
>
*DJSpaceMouse
Message 5 of 12 (58 Views)

Re:

11-25-2002 10:17 PM in reply to: *J, Dave
Inventor will import and automatically Stitch and Promote the surface model
into a solid model; however, you're really at the mercy of the software
generating the IGES surface. If surfaces don't quite enclose a volume, the
Stitch and Promote fails. Elysium also has a CADdoctor that will heal "bad"
surfaces or solids. And oh yeah, that's not quite free either.

"Dave J" wrote in message
news:534BB87E09C811F73FB714309676C4D4@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> The customer has told us they can write out to IGES as either wireframe or
> "faces". Will either/both of these import into IV or MDT?
>
> --
> Dave Jacquemotte
> davej@autoconcorp.com
>
>
> "Drew Fulford" wrote in message
> news:A22815A59C57014A1B89E015850EC967@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > Your customer will need to have step writer for catia which is
expensive. He
> > probably doesnt have this.
> >
> > Failing that route, you can use Elysium Inc's http://www.elysiuminc.com/
> > catia<->IV translator which i have had great success with, however it
too is
> > expensive. So the question really is, who do you want to spend the
money,
> > you or your customer.
> >
> > - drew
> > --
> > Drew Fulford B.A.Sc. Systems Engineer
> > Solid Caddgroup Inc. Burlington, Ontario
> > Tel: (905)331-9670, Fax: (905)331-7280
> > Corporate: http://www.solidcadcam.com/
> >
> > Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
> > Visit my MCAD website @ http://www.mymcad.com/
> >
> >
> >
> > "Dave J" wrote in message
> > news:EF625E356DBB38F93EA99379B51E4263@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > >
> > > What is the best format to export CATIA to to be able to read it as a
> > solid in
> > > IV? I would guess STEP, but our customer is saying that's not even
> > possible. Is
> > > he lying? Thanks.
> > >
> > > --
> > > Dave Jacquemotte
> > > davej@autoconcorp.com
> > >
> > >
> > >
> >
> >
>
>
*J, Dave
Message 6 of 12 (58 Views)

Re:

11-25-2002 10:23 PM in reply to: *J, Dave
Yeah, I've been checking Elysium out. Pretty high cost until you compare that to
a seat of CATIA. Problem I have is appartenly it doens't translate SolidEdge
files. I know it's kind of like UG, but are the formats the same? We have
another customer that will be sending us SE files.

--
Dave Jacquemotte
davej@autoconcorp.com


"DJSpaceMouse" wrote in message
news:43F66D5BFB1ED52DB900C0249A274CE9@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Inventor will import and automatically Stitch and Promote the surface model
> into a solid model; however, you're really at the mercy of the software
> generating the IGES surface. If surfaces don't quite enclose a volume, the
> Stitch and Promote fails. Elysium also has a CADdoctor that will heal "bad"
> surfaces or solids. And oh yeah, that's not quite free either.
>
> "Dave J" wrote in message
> news:534BB87E09C811F73FB714309676C4D4@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > The customer has told us they can write out to IGES as either wireframe or
> > "faces". Will either/both of these import into IV or MDT?
> >
*Fulford, Drew
Message 7 of 12 (58 Views)

Re:

11-25-2002 10:33 PM in reply to: *J, Dave
You can try but IMHO its always a long chot coming from Catia. How much time
do you have to tinker?

- drew
--
Drew Fulford B.A.Sc. Systems Engineer
Solid Caddgroup Inc. Burlington, Ontario
Tel: (905)331-9670, Fax: (905)331-7280
Corporate: http://www.solidcadcam.com/

Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
Visit my MCAD website @ http://www.mymcad.com/



"Dave J" wrote in message
news:534BB87E09C811F73FB714309676C4D4@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> The customer has told us they can write out to IGES as either wireframe or
> "faces". Will either/both of these import into IV or MDT?
>
> --
> Dave Jacquemotte
> davej@autoconcorp.com
>
>
> "Drew Fulford" wrote in message
> news:A22815A59C57014A1B89E015850EC967@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > Your customer will need to have step writer for catia which is
expensive. He
> > probably doesnt have this.
> >
> > Failing that route, you can use Elysium Inc's http://www.elysiuminc.com/
> > catia<->IV translator which i have had great success with, however it
too is
> > expensive. So the question really is, who do you want to spend the
money,
> > you or your customer.
> >
> > - drew
> > --
> > Drew Fulford B.A.Sc. Systems Engineer
> > Solid Caddgroup Inc. Burlington, Ontario
> > Tel: (905)331-9670, Fax: (905)331-7280
> > Corporate: http://www.solidcadcam.com/
> >
> > Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
> > Visit my MCAD website @ http://www.mymcad.com/
> >
> >
> >
> > "Dave J" wrote in message
> > news:EF625E356DBB38F93EA99379B51E4263@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > >
> > > What is the best format to export CATIA to to be able to read it as a
> > solid in
> > > IV? I would guess STEP, but our customer is saying that's not even
> > possible. Is
> > > he lying? Thanks.
> > >
> > > --
> > > Dave Jacquemotte
> > > davej@autoconcorp.com
> > >
> > >
> > >
> >
> >
>
>
*J, Dave
Message 8 of 12 (58 Views)

Re:

11-25-2002 10:33 PM in reply to: *J, Dave
Not a ton of time, but more importantly, not a ton of money to spend on
conversion.

--
Dave Jacquemotte
davej@autoconcorp.com


"Drew Fulford" wrote in message
news:840F2EE0C06560FDD229146B47BD1567@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> You can try but IMHO its always a long chot coming from Catia. How much time
> do you have to tinker?
>
> - drew
> --
> Drew Fulford B.A.Sc. Systems Engineer
> Solid Caddgroup Inc. Burlington, Ontario
> Tel: (905)331-9670, Fax: (905)331-7280
> Corporate: http://www.solidcadcam.com/
>
> Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
> Visit my MCAD website @ http://www.mymcad.com/
>
>
>
> "Dave J" wrote in message
> news:534BB87E09C811F73FB714309676C4D4@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > The customer has told us they can write out to IGES as either wireframe or
> > "faces". Will either/both of these import into IV or MDT?
> >
> > --
> > Dave Jacquemotte
> > davej@autoconcorp.com
> >
> >
> > "Drew Fulford" wrote in message
> > news:A22815A59C57014A1B89E015850EC967@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > > Your customer will need to have step writer for catia which is
> expensive. He
> > > probably doesnt have this.
> > >
> > > Failing that route, you can use Elysium Inc's http://www.elysiuminc.com/
> > > catia<->IV translator which i have had great success with, however it
> too is
> > > expensive. So the question really is, who do you want to spend the
> money,
> > > you or your customer.
> > >
> > > - drew
> > > --
> > > Drew Fulford B.A.Sc. Systems Engineer
> > > Solid Caddgroup Inc. Burlington, Ontario
> > > Tel: (905)331-9670, Fax: (905)331-7280
> > > Corporate: http://www.solidcadcam.com/
> > >
> > > Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
> > > Visit my MCAD website @ http://www.mymcad.com/
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > > "Dave J" wrote in message
> > > news:EF625E356DBB38F93EA99379B51E4263@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > > >
> > > > What is the best format to export CATIA to to be able to read it as a
> > > solid in
> > > > IV? I would guess STEP, but our customer is saying that's not even
> > > possible. Is
> > > > he lying? Thanks.
> > > >
> > > > --
> > > > Dave Jacquemotte
> > > > davej@autoconcorp.com
> > > >
> > > >
> > > >
> > >
> > >
> >
> >
>
>
*Fulford, Drew
Message 9 of 12 (58 Views)

Re:

11-25-2002 10:37 PM in reply to: *J, Dave
Someone also reported having some succes using a trial version of ashlar
vellum argon as the go between.

- drew

--
Drew Fulford B.A.Sc. Systems Engineer
Solid Caddgroup Inc. Burlington, Ontario
Tel: (905)331-9670, Fax: (905)331-7280
Corporate: http://www.solidcadcam.com/

Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
Visit my MCAD website @ http://www.mymcad.com/



"Drew Fulford" wrote in message
news:840F2EE0C06560FDD229146B47BD1567@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> You can try but IMHO its always a long chot coming from Catia. How much
time
> do you have to tinker?
>
> - drew
> --
> Drew Fulford B.A.Sc. Systems Engineer
> Solid Caddgroup Inc. Burlington, Ontario
> Tel: (905)331-9670, Fax: (905)331-7280
> Corporate: http://www.solidcadcam.com/
>
> Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
> Visit my MCAD website @ http://www.mymcad.com/
>
>
>
> "Dave J" wrote in message
> news:534BB87E09C811F73FB714309676C4D4@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > The customer has told us they can write out to IGES as either wireframe
or
> > "faces". Will either/both of these import into IV or MDT?
> >
> > --
> > Dave Jacquemotte
> > davej@autoconcorp.com
> >
> >
> > "Drew Fulford" wrote in message
> > news:A22815A59C57014A1B89E015850EC967@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > > Your customer will need to have step writer for catia which is
> expensive. He
> > > probably doesnt have this.
> > >
> > > Failing that route, you can use Elysium Inc's
http://www.elysiuminc.com/
> > > catia<->IV translator which i have had great success with, however it
> too is
> > > expensive. So the question really is, who do you want to spend the
> money,
> > > you or your customer.
> > >
> > > - drew
> > > --
> > > Drew Fulford B.A.Sc. Systems Engineer
> > > Solid Caddgroup Inc. Burlington, Ontario
> > > Tel: (905)331-9670, Fax: (905)331-7280
> > > Corporate: http://www.solidcadcam.com/
> > >
> > > Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
> > > Visit my MCAD website @ http://www.mymcad.com/
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > > "Dave J" wrote in message
> > > news:EF625E356DBB38F93EA99379B51E4263@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > > >
> > > > What is the best format to export CATIA to to be able to read it as
a
> > > solid in
> > > > IV? I would guess STEP, but our customer is saying that's not even
> > > possible. Is
> > > > he lying? Thanks.
> > > >
> > > > --
> > > > Dave Jacquemotte
> > > > davej@autoconcorp.com
> > > >
> > > >
> > > >
> > >
> > >
> >
> >
>
>
*DJSpaceMouse
Message 10 of 12 (58 Views)

Re:

11-25-2002 11:09 PM in reply to: *J, Dave
Hmmm, really? I have a trial CD of Vellum laying around here. I might have
to give that a try.

"Drew Fulford" wrote in message
news:56A91C9FCB1243F179F8D5F4FB28B4F2@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Someone also reported having some succes using a trial version of ashlar
> vellum argon as the go between.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.