Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
*Sands, Fred
Message 1 of 7 (48 Views)

Cannot sketch using geometry in idw.

48 Views, 6 Replies
11-04-2002 02:52 AM
It works in 5.3, but not 6.

Extrude a rectangular, then create a .idw. Try to draw a line from corner to
corner in sketch.
5.3 the green dot shows up. 6.0 nothing.

Bug or just a different method?

Thanks
Member
MichaelPuschner
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-05-2002
Message 2 of 7 (48 Views)

Re: Cannot sketch using geometry in idw.

11-04-2002 03:00 AM in reply to: *Sands, Fred
In the sketch of the IDW view you have to project the lines of the model first. (And don't forget to hit RMB and "done" after selecting the lines to project.)
-
Michael Puschner
*Keller, Kent
Message 3 of 7 (48 Views)

Re: Cannot sketch using geometry in idw.

11-04-2002 03:01 AM in reply to: *Sands, Fred
you have to project in R6 or I think it was said that if you have Autoproject edges
turned on in app options it will do it. I haven't verified that myself though.

--
Kent
Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program


"Fred Sands" wrote in message
news:8F667F2FD1F3D2EBF2BABAADB027D0B9@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> It works in 5.3, but not 6.
>
> Extrude a rectangular, then create a .idw. Try to draw a line from corner to
> corner in sketch.
> 5.3 the green dot shows up. 6.0 nothing.
>
> Bug or just a different method?
>
> Thanks
>
>
*Sands, Fred
Message 4 of 7 (48 Views)

Re: Cannot sketch using geometry in idw.

11-04-2002 03:03 AM in reply to: *Sands, Fred
That worked great!
Thanks again

"Fred Sands" wrote in message
news:8F667F2FD1F3D2EBF2BABAADB027D0B9@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> It works in 5.3, but not 6.
>
> Extrude a rectangular, then create a .idw. Try to draw a line from corner
to
> corner in sketch.
> 5.3 the green dot shows up. 6.0 nothing.
>
> Bug or just a different method?
>
> Thanks
>
>
Member
MichaelPuschner
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-05-2002
Message 5 of 7 (48 Views)

Re:

11-04-2002 03:06 AM in reply to: *Sands, Fred
Autoproject edges doesn't work for me in IDWs.
(And if I think about it they aren't edges in IDWs.)

Michael Puschner
*Keller, Kent
Message 6 of 7 (48 Views)

Re:

11-04-2002 03:15 AM in reply to: *Sands, Fred
Hmmm I was just going off this previous post

All,

Just so everyone knows (I've seen this discussion before), if you go to
Application Options and the Sketch tab, and turn on "Autoproject edges
during curve creation", it will work as it did in previous releases. That
is, sketch on a view and you can constrain to the model geometry.

Just an FYI.
Rich Willis- Autodesk

--
Kent
Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program


"MichaelPuschner" wrote in message news:f11f86d.3@WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Autoproject edges doesn't work for me in IDWs.
> (And if I think about it they aren't edges in IDWs.)
> Michael Puschner
>
Member
MichaelPuschner
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-05-2002
Message 7 of 7 (48 Views)

Re:

11-05-2002 02:01 AM in reply to: *Sands, Fred
Now I've got it. In sketches of IDW views is has no effect when you change the "Autoproject edges" setting while you are in sketch mode. You have to leave the sketch and activate it again to see the effect. In IPT scetches the setting has an effect at once without leaving the sketch.

So Kent is right, "Autoproject edges" workes in IDWs similar as sketching was in 5.3.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.