Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
raymondlee306
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎09-30-2008
Message 1 of 9 (391 Views)

Cannot Reorder regular parts Browser

391 Views, 8 Replies
12-12-2012 12:04 PM

In Inventor 2012 I could grab any part (except patterns of course) and move it anywhere into folders, out of folder, up down, wherever, till my hearts content. But in 2013 sometimes it lets me, sometimes it does not. Sometimes I select a group of parts and when I try to put them into a new folder it will place most of them in it tell me the others are not allowed to be moved? I must stress that these are NOT patterned parts, but stuff I have moved around for at least the last 2 versions of the software. Why in 2013 can I not do this as easily or at all in some cases? Is there a new check box checked by default I can't find? I have tried switching the browser between modeling and assembly view and sometimes it works and sometimes it does not. I'm at a loss here...

 

PS it does this with both content center and non content center parts.

 

Thanks All,

 

Inventor 2013 sp1.1

Employee
csaba.stupak
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎12-08-2006
Message 2 of 9 (369 Views)

Re: Cannot Reorder regular parts Browser

12-17-2012 10:20 AM in reply to: raymondlee306

Could you attach a simplified dataset and exact workflow (video if possible)?

 

Thanks,

Csaba

Distinguished Contributor
raymondlee306
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎09-30-2008
Message 3 of 9 (334 Views)

Re: Cannot Reorder regular parts Browser

01-14-2013 09:02 AM in reply to: csaba.stupak

Sorry it took so long for me to respond to you. Here is an assembly with 3 content center elbows and 1 folder. none of the parts can be moved, dropped in a folder etc. I could do this in 2012 but not 2013.

 

Also, my parts have the default CC icons, where as the guy next to me has the yellow squares like the CC parts are a normal ipt. But we are using the same CC. That's kind of why I'm thinking I have a check box unchecked or checked when it should not be.

 

Thank You,

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,056
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 9 (326 Views)

Re: Cannot Reorder regular parts Browser

01-14-2013 09:16 AM in reply to: raymondlee306

An assembly must include ipt files.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Distinguished Contributor
raymondlee306
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎09-30-2008
Message 5 of 9 (316 Views)

Re: Cannot Reorder regular parts Browser

01-14-2013 09:52 AM in reply to: JDMather

Sorry JD. I thought because I was just using the standard CC elbows others would be able to open it. Here's an updated version.

Distinguished Contributor
raymondlee306
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎09-30-2008
Message 6 of 9 (309 Views)

Re: Cannot Reorder regular parts Browser

01-14-2013 10:07 AM in reply to: raymondlee306

Another thing that does not work is demoting or promoting components like hitting "tab" to create a new sub assembly with parts selected.

Distinguished Contributor
raymondlee306
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎09-30-2008
Message 7 of 9 (228 Views)

Re: Cannot Reorder regular parts Browser

03-22-2013 07:38 AM in reply to: raymondlee306

I feel like I am one step closer to solving this but I hit a wall. I read throught the other posts about this and still no one has come up with a solution so I have not given up.

 

When I turn off the routed systems add-in and place any fitting (tee, flange, etc) it comes up with the normal blue square symbol next to it in the browser and the tool tip under my mouse says "insert point". All is good, I can move it in the browser, add them to folders and life is perfect.

 

When I turn on the routed systems add-in and place the same fitting as above it comes in with the little blue butt welded tee symbol and the tool tip says "tube and pipe insert point" even though it is a normal .iam.

 

So my thought would be this is a "feature" of the routed systems. But the other 3 guys that all have the same computer as me, with the same version of Inventor, pointing to the same templates, same add-ins turned on, and the same content centers do not experience this behavior.

 

Did I accidently click a check box? Or am I completly insane and this is all in my head?

Contributor
sistcon
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-21-2014
Message 8 of 9 (57 Views)

Re: Cannot Reorder regular parts Browser

08-08-2014 07:29 AM in reply to: raymondlee306

I have the exact same problem. with Inventor 2014 up to date. I cant figure out what its going on.

Valued Contributor
ninjajedisaiyan
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎04-28-2009
Message 9 of 9 (38 Views)

Re: Cannot Reorder regular parts Browser

08-14-2014 05:59 PM in reply to: raymondlee306

I'm having the same problem and I think I found a work around for the time being.

 

Instead of making a new folder and dragging the parts in like would normally work, first select all the parts in the tree, right click, and choose "Add to New Folder."  If you need to add more parts in after you have to delete the folder, select all the parts again and add to new folder. At least they are already grouped together.

 

Granted I haven't upgraded to 2015 yet, not sure if it is fixed.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!