Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
not2013
Posts: 134
Registered: ‎05-06-2013
Message 1 of 12 (213 Views)

CAnnot project any work planes.

213 Views, 11 Replies
09-06-2013 10:52 AM

Isn't this an important part of sketches?  Why would I not be able to project a work plane.

 

Cannot project any w-planes whether default or created in inv2013.

 

THX

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,294
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 2 of 12 (211 Views)

Re: CAnnot project any work planes.

09-06-2013 10:56 AM in reply to: not2013

Not sure what you mean by not being able to project work planes.  You can offset workplanes to create new ones, you can use workplanes to sketch on and project based on your sketches.  Which one of these are you not able to do?

If you could clarify or even better, provide some images of what youare talking about that would help.

 

check.PNGIf this solved your issue please mark this posting "Accept as Solution".

Or if you like something that was said and it was helpful, Kudoskudos.PNG are appreciated. Thanks!!!! :smileyvery-happy:

 

New EE Logo.PNG

Inventor.PNG     vault.PNG

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2014
(Colossians 3:23-25)

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,045
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 3 of 12 (210 Views)

Re: CAnnot project any work planes.

09-06-2013 10:56 AM in reply to: not2013

Attach file here that exhibits this behavior.

Are selecting edge of plane?   (must select edge - not inside)

Is the plane you are selecting perpendicular (not co-planar) to your active sketch?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Distinguished Contributor
not2013
Posts: 134
Registered: ‎05-06-2013
Message 4 of 12 (189 Views)

Re: CAnnot project any work planes.

09-06-2013 01:00 PM in reply to: Cadmanto

Yes sorry, I meant I cannot project geometry like normal.  I could make new work planes (datum planes) but couldn't project them so that you can use them in a sketch.

 

I just deleted the feature and sketch and recreated them. Its all perfect now!

 

thx

 

 

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,045
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 5 of 12 (180 Views)

Re: CAnnot project any work planes.

09-06-2013 02:51 PM in reply to: not2013

not2013 wrote:
 

I just deleted the feature and sketch and recreated them. Its all perfect now!

 


Whenever something unexpected happens you should attach the file exhibiting unexpected behavior here so that the problem can be fixed.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,294
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 6 of 12 (171 Views)

Re: CAnnot project any work planes.

09-06-2013 04:28 PM in reply to: not2013

It is possible that your first sketch was not entirely closed where as the second one was.

If the sketch is not enclosed the projection tool will not work.

So, is this issue resolved?

 

check.PNGIf this solved your issue please mark this posting "Accept as Solution".

Or if you like something that was said and it was helpful, Kudoskudos.PNG are appreciated. Thanks!!!! :smileyvery-happy:

 

New EE Logo.PNG

Inventor.PNG     vault.PNG

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2014
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Distinguished Contributor
not2013
Posts: 134
Registered: ‎05-06-2013
Message 7 of 12 (136 Views)

Re: CAnnot project any work planes.

09-09-2013 08:06 AM in reply to: not2013

Well honestly at this point there are so many thing wrong with the software that I really do not know how it is suppose to work.  I know that it is hard to make sketches or edit sketches without beign able to project. 

 

Again I honestly do not understand why inventor does not already know taht the work planes (datum planes) are real geometry to begin with.  It is one of the many thing that do not make much sense to me. 

 

THX

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,045
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 8 of 12 (130 Views)

Re: CAnnot project any work planes.

09-09-2013 08:12 AM in reply to: not2013

not2013 wrote:

 

Again I honestly do not understand why inventor does not already know taht the work planes (datum planes) are real geometry to begin with.  It is one of the many thing that do not make much sense to me. 

 

THX


I never ever project planes into my sketches and wouldn't want that.

Where are you located?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Distinguished Contributor
not2013
Posts: 134
Registered: ‎05-06-2013
Message 9 of 12 (127 Views)

Re: CAnnot project any work planes.

09-09-2013 08:18 AM in reply to: Cadmanto

No it absolutely is not.  Editting and existing feature and sketch.  So all was good till I editted it.  

 

Anyway all of this extra time spent makes my invoices nicely padded.  I cannot send any examples as everything I work on is "proprietary protected", so if I sent an example we both could be charged with a crime of sabotage or corporate espionage.  Some sort of legal mumbojumbo. I'm not in manufacturing I'm in design engineering. Almost everything I work on is for real or involved in contracts with our clients.  So I would be fired at best and arrested at worse.

 

 

   So I am to understand that this is the normal way invetor was desinged to work?  or I sould be albe to project work planes.

Distinguished Contributor
not2013
Posts: 134
Registered: ‎05-06-2013
Message 10 of 12 (126 Views)

Re: CAnnot project any work planes.

09-09-2013 08:21 AM in reply to: JDMather

JDMather wrote:

 


I never ever project planes into my sketches and wouldn't want that.

Where are you located?


This is not normal for inventor, please were is this written so I may read it myself? "That you should never project work planes in sketches."

Located in the USA!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.