Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
19 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-18-2012
Post 1 of 6
Accepted Solution

Cannot make part adaptive

1744 Views, 5 Replies
09-10-2012 05:40 AM

Hi,

I have an assembly with several analogical parts and they have sketches with project geometry inside this assembly ("Adaptive" function works good, look pic "Works").

Unfotrunately, one part of parts doesnt work perfectly ("Adaptive" function is not active, look pic "Doesnt work"),

why it is soo??

 

Was this part adaptive in another assembly if so open part go to documents uncheck adaptive in assembly.

 

Uncheck.JPG

*Pro
1,986 Posts
404 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Post 2 of 6

Re: Cannot make part adaptive

09-10-2012 06:18 AM in reply to: ZachJa

Was this part adaptive in another assembly if so open part go to documents uncheck adaptive in assembly.

 

Uncheck.JPG


Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

James Letcher
2012 Factory Design Suite ( will not load 2013)
What happen to my Inventor :-(
Employee
49 Posts
5 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-08-2006
Post 3 of 6

Re: Cannot make part adaptive

09-10-2012 07:41 AM in reply to: ZachJa

Once you used a part as adaptive in an assembly, the part document's "Adaptively Used in Assembly" option is enabled (under the Document Settings \ Modeling tab). Note that the part's adaptivity can be driven only by ONE assembly. So if you have more instances of the part in the assembly only one of them can be adaptive. Also if the part is inserted into more assemblies only one of them can control its adaptivity. If you want to change which assembly should control it, you have to uncheck this flag using the Document Settings dialog and then enable the adaptivity in the new controlling assembly.

 

Regards,

Csaba

Employee
359 Posts
38 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-20-2008
Post 4 of 6

Re: Cannot make part adaptive

09-10-2012 07:07 PM in reply to: ZachJa

Maybe it sounds related to your dataset. So could you attach the dataset for further investigation?

Thanks,
River Cai

Inventor Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.
Contributor
19 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-18-2012
Post 5 of 6

Re: Cannot make part adaptive

09-10-2012 09:13 PM in reply to: jletcher

Thank you!

I have unchecked this tick and now it works well!

However, other parts work with this checked tick anyhow..... interesting...

Anyway, in general it works, Thanks!

*Pro
1,986 Posts
404 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Post 6 of 6

Re: Cannot make part adaptive

09-11-2012 04:31 AM in reply to: ZachJa

Some that have it checked and work is because they are in the assembly they was made adaptive too.. :smileyhappy:


Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

James Letcher
2012 Factory Design Suite ( will not load 2013)
What happen to my Inventor :-(
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!