Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
154 Posts
13 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-07-2005
Post 1 of 10

cannot dimension drawing views, HELP

324 Views, 9 Replies
08-31-2012 08:18 AM

I am using Inventor 2013.  For some reason I cannot dimension some of the model entities in the drawing views in an idw file.  I can retrieve the model dimensions but it is usually easier to create the dimensions I need in each view.  This is the first time I have had this issue.  What causes this?  I can select the line, curve, etc. when dimensioning but nothing happens.

 

After I think about it.  What I cannot dimension are lofts that I created with rails.  These rails were made up of lines and curves, not polylines.  How do I get the sketches for the rails I used for lofting to display in the drawing views so I can dimension those sketches.

*Expert Elite*
3,378 Posts
1,277 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Post 2 of 10

Re: cannot dimension drawing views, HELP

08-31-2012 08:30 AM in reply to: m.granata

Try restarting your computer or your session of Inventor.

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2014
(Colossians 3:23-25)

*Pro
1,435 Posts
120 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-26-2005
Post 3 of 10

Re: cannot dimension drawing views, HELP

08-31-2012 08:48 AM in reply to: m.granata

by chance were these files created in something earlier than 2013?  If so, were they migrated up to 2013 or did you just open them?

Distinguished Contributor
154 Posts
13 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-07-2005
Post 4 of 10

Re: cannot dimension drawing views, HELP

08-31-2012 08:53 AM in reply to: m.granata

Rebooted workstation, same results.  All files were created in Inventor 2013.  Including the idw template file.

*Expert Elite*
4,364 Posts
512 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Post 5 of 10

Re: cannot dimension drawing views, HELP

08-31-2012 09:04 AM in reply to: m.granata

update 2 installed?  Can you post the part or duplicate it on another part?

Distinguished Contributor
154 Posts
13 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-07-2005
Post 6 of 10

Re: cannot dimension drawing views, HELP

08-31-2012 09:30 AM in reply to: m.granata

I need to install update 2.  I found a method that works, although it may not be the best.  In the model tree, select the appropriate model sketch, rt mouse click, select include.  I am then able to dimension the model sketch of the rails in the drawing view.  Thanks for your help.

*Expert Elite*
28,635 Posts
2,129 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Post 7 of 10

Re: cannot dimension drawing views, HELP

08-31-2012 09:40 AM in reply to: m.granata

I'm sure Autodesk would like to see this dataset.

Can you attach the files here?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Contributor
14 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-17-2006
Post 8 of 10

Re: cannot dimension drawing views, HELP

08-31-2012 11:40 AM in reply to: m.granata

Do you have "Edge Property Selection" set.  It should be the default, but stranger things have happened.

Distinguished Contributor
154 Posts
13 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-07-2005
Post 9 of 10

Re: cannot dimension drawing views, HELP

08-31-2012 12:55 PM in reply to: m.granata

I will double check that.  But it is just the lofted bodies that are giving me this problem.  I figured out how to dimension the rails I sketched to guide the lofts in a drawing view and that is what is critical.  These lofts are fairly complex, at least from my experience.

*Expert Elite*
941 Posts
198 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Post 10 of 10

Re: cannot dimension drawing views, HELP

09-01-2012 12:42 PM in reply to: m.granata

Double check that the drawing view is perfectly plannar to the view.

CSO

The CAD Setter Out Blog @CadSetterOut

Inventor Surfacing | AutoCAD | CAD Standards

Please use the Mark Solutions! Accept as Solution or Give Kudos! Kudos functions - Thank you!
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!