Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
QuasiMojo
Posts: 96
Registered: ‎07-06-2011
Message 1 of 6 (862 Views)

Can't get extrude dialog box back on-screen without second monitor attached

862 Views, 5 Replies
11-11-2012 05:41 PM

Normally I use two monitors, but I'm travelling.  Because I last placed the extrude box on my other monitor I can no longer get access to it on the only screen I have left.  Normally, as with any window, you could hit Alt+Space and M but....the blasted mini-toolbar takes focus first!!  It seems that all the other menus don't have this, only extrude.  Is there any way to reset menus when disconnecting?  There really should be. I'd say that the program ought to know that there is only one monitor connected and respond accordingly.

 

W7-64, all up to date

Inventor Professional 2014
Windows 7, x64
Dual-core i7, 8GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro FX 880M
HP Elitebook 8540w
*Expert Elite*
Mark_Wigan
Posts: 454
Registered: ‎03-07-2006
Message 2 of 6 (839 Views)

Re: Can't get extrude dialog box back on-screen without second monitor attached

11-12-2012 04:52 AM in reply to: QuasiMojo

The mini toolbar is a pain as far as I am concerned.

 

There is a registry setting for the position of these things... I will see if I can dig it up For you.

 

 

best regards,
- Mark

PDSU 2014 Windows 8.1, 64bit. (Kudo or Tag as Solved if your issue is sorted)

Product Support
4donwan4
Posts: 176
Registered: ‎10-17-2012
Message 3 of 6 (797 Views)

Re: Can't get extrude dialog box back on-screen without second monitor attached

11-14-2012 08:33 AM in reply to: QuasiMojo

Take a look at this.

http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com/2011/01/missing-dialog-box.html and / or

http://www.youtube.com/user/JustinHoey#p/u/4/rRP9sWpFYBM and / or

AT You Own Risk

registry is in HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Autodesk\Inventor\RegistryVersionxx.0\DockingAreas

Regards,

Don

New Member
Hill685
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-26-2013
Message 4 of 6 (414 Views)

Re: Can't get extrude dialog box back on-screen without second monitor attached

11-26-2013 08:38 AM in reply to: 4donwan4

Hello,

 

I am having the same problem.  I have repositioned all of my dialog boxes except for the extrude dialog box.  Do you have any suggestions?

Valued Contributor
graeme.robinson
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎07-30-2011
Message 5 of 6 (165 Views)

Re: Can't get extrude dialog box back on-screen without second monitor attached

06-05-2014 01:15 AM in reply to: Hill685

ALT+SPACE+M

then use cursor keys to move box onto screen

Distinguished Contributor
nstalker
Posts: 202
Registered: ‎03-16-2012
Message 6 of 6 (36 Views)

Re: Can't get extrude dialog box back on-screen without second monitor attached

09-12-2014 11:27 AM in reply to: 4donwan4

you are a lifesaver!  I pinned this for future reference.  And yes, I am admitting to having a Pinterest account. :robothappy:

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.