Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
jacob.hawk.fcp
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-10-2013
Message 1 of 7 (144 Views)

can some one help with assembly

144 Views, 6 Replies
01-10-2013 06:48 PM

thanks to one user i was able to finish the blade then i did the next peices on my own all good and dandy. till i try to put them together for the next peice that attaches to the end with the 2 prongs. the one peice inside the large peice and the pin that is in it is in the right place its just the blade wont go through the hollow spot and line up with the pin. the other dimond cut peice in the page goes on after the hole in the blade 11.11 mm from the back tip to the face of the box. any help would be greatful.

Active Member
jacob.hawk.fcp
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-10-2013
Message 2 of 7 (134 Views)

Re: can some one help with assembly

01-10-2013 07:28 PM in reply to: jacob.hawk.fcp

also with the pin i set the lenth to 9mm insted of 8mm.

Valued Mentor
rhasell
Posts: 329
Registered: ‎05-23-2007
Message 3 of 7 (123 Views)

Re: can some one help with assembly

01-10-2013 09:59 PM in reply to: jacob.hawk.fcp

Hi

 

For anyone to open the assembly, you will need to attach all the parts as well.

 

Just looking at your contraints (Only thing that is available without the parts) you should perhaps look at going through some tutorials and preferably attend a course.

 

In my Opinon 'Angle' contrains should not take the place of 'Flush' and 'Mate'

 

You should not have to use dimensions in ALL your insert contraints, that immediately tells me that there is something wrong.

 

If you worked around the default workplanes, use those for contsraining parts, and use Mate and Flush instead.

 

Depending on the connection, a "Mate" - "Axis" and a "Mate/Flush midplane" is better than a "dimensioned Insert."

 

The more manual input you have in the assembly, the more things you have to change if and when the model changes, and more things can potentialy go wrong.

 


Reg
Autodesk PDS Ultimate 2015 SP 1 Build 203
Intel Core i7 (950@3.07GHz)/Win7x64 (Home) - 12GB Ram
Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti
 
Please Give Kudo's / accept as a solution if it solves your problem.
Active Member
jacob.hawk.fcp
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-10-2013
Message 4 of 7 (119 Views)

Re: can some one help with assembly

01-10-2013 10:19 PM in reply to: rhasell
Active Member
jacob.hawk.fcp
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-10-2013
Message 5 of 7 (118 Views)

Re: can some one help with assembly

01-10-2013 10:19 PM in reply to: rhasell

and here are the rest

Valued Mentor
rhasell
Posts: 329
Registered: ‎05-23-2007
Message 6 of 7 (108 Views)

Re: can some one help with assembly

01-10-2013 10:59 PM in reply to: jacob.hawk.fcp

Hi Jacob

 

I have built you assembly, see attached, I have NOT changed a thing, all I did was add the work planes where the default workplane should have been. I then contsrained your assembly, except for the 11mm item, I am not sure where you want that?

 

Firstly, there are a lot of issues with you models, you need to learn to constrain the sketches properly, there is a lot of information available on the web.

 

Try your best to work around the default work planes, it makes life so much easier.

 

There are some issies with the Blade Holder part. (I only checked the first few extrusions and sketches)

Nothing is constrained, there are no horizontal/vertical contraints either.

The midplane "line" is not in the middle either. (the pin hole is off center)

The Fillet at the bottom of the holder, has an overlap, I was quite surprised the extrusion even worked, (Learn't something new)


Too many dimensions and not enough constraints.

The part can be reduced to a few extrusions and one or two fillets with a bit of practice.

 

Great attempt though.

Read lots, keep playing with the software, you will get better every day.

 

 


Reg
Autodesk PDS Ultimate 2015 SP 1 Build 203
Intel Core i7 (950@3.07GHz)/Win7x64 (Home) - 12GB Ram
Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti
 
Please Give Kudo's / accept as a solution if it solves your problem.
Active Member
jacob.hawk.fcp
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-10-2013
Message 7 of 7 (101 Views)

Re: can some one help with assembly

01-11-2013 12:56 AM in reply to: rhasell

hey thank you as i have been waiting for someone to pitty a poor soul such as myself i have been going over alot of things that you and others have said and am trying to better myself. haha not to bad for the first day i hope here is what i have done on my own 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!