Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
drguitarum2005
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎10-08-2012
Message 1 of 6 (184 Views)

Bring subassembly into assembly at precise location

184 Views, 5 Replies
01-29-2013 02:27 PM

Can anyone think of the best way to do this? To simplify lets say I have a square plate, vertically positioned. I have a square tube that I wish to cantilever off the plate and weld into place horizontally. EVERY time I bring that square tube in (lets say its a subassembly of its own rather than a part), it is precisely 1 inch below the top of the plate and 1 in in from the left edge.

 

Can anyone think of a way to make that happen where maybe I bring the part in and click on the two faces, it knows the other two contraints? Thanks...

*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,883
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 2 of 6 (168 Views)

Re: Bring subassembly into assembly at precise location

01-29-2013 05:23 PM in reply to: drguitarum2005

Sounds like a job for iLogic to me.  Or, if you're more comfortable in VBA, that should work, too.  You might try posting in the Inventor Customization group, too.

Sam B
Inventor 2012 Certified Professional

Please click "Accept as Solution" if this response answers your question.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Inventor Professional 2013 SP1.1 Update 1
Windows XP Pro 32-bit, SP3
HP EliteBook 8730w; 4 GB RAM; Core™ 2 Duo T9400 2.53 GHz; Quadro FX2700M
SpaceExplorer/SpaceNavigator NB, driver 3.7.18
still waiting for a foreshortened radius dimensioning tool in Drawing Manager

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,062
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 6 (162 Views)

Re: Bring subassembly into assembly at precise location

01-29-2013 09:33 PM in reply to: sbixler

I watch Kevin Schneider work with a plastic assembly a couple few AU's ago and he was located the assemblies using the XZY data in the occurance tab of a part within an assembly.

 

I wish I had kept notes of the class, but this data is only generated once the part is placed in a IAM and not in the IPT file.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up2 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,482
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 4 of 6 (143 Views)

Re: Bring subassembly into assembly at precise location

01-30-2013 04:56 AM in reply to: drguitarum2005

This is exactly what iMates are for. I'm sure there's a tutorial on AutoDesk somewhere for them.

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Distinguished Contributor
drguitarum2005
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎10-08-2012
Message 5 of 6 (113 Views)

Re: Bring subassembly into assembly at precise location

01-31-2013 09:46 AM in reply to: mrattray

Thanks yall. I was able to add some iMates to the parts to get them to work. Can anyone explain to me real fast what the "matching" means when defining an iMate and giving it a name? I have an idea but I'm not positive I'm right. Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,062
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 6 (93 Views)

Re: Bring subassembly into assembly at precise location

01-31-2013 10:49 PM in reply to: drguitarum2005

This should help: http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Inventor/enu/2013/Help/1310-Autodesk1310/1655-Assembli1655/1656-Build_a...

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up2 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.