Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
UlviEng
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎11-22-2012
Message 1 of 7 (339 Views)
Accepted Solution

BOM problem

339 Views, 6 Replies
01-20-2014 05:22 AM
Hello All, I have just faced with a problem and want to share it as I need to sort it out as soon as possible. Briefly, I created a part then put it into 14 different assembly and used it as a basic part eventually I entered these assemblies into final one. But while converting 3d model of final assembly onto 2d layout to my surprise in BOM it is shown only 1 assembly and QTY column reflects number of initial created part. Now the question is how I can make BOM to reflect the whole 14 assemblies?

Dear UlviEng,

Many thanks for your question.

The structured BOM in the assembly could be configured to be merged by part number.

If this is the case, here is a proposition:

>> Open the main top assembly "0831-29122013.iam"

>> Manage >> Bill Of Materials >> select "structured" tab (If necessary "View Option" button >> enable BOM view)

>> click on "Part Number Raw merge Settings" >> disable "enable Row Merge on Part Number Match" option >> ok >> done

>> go back in the drawing containing the part list >> the part list should display all the sub-assemblies.

(For information here is a link on information about "Merging rows in bill of materials":

http://help.autodesk.com/cloudhelp/2014/ENU/Inventor/files/GUID-C6495D82-9A5E-4940-B4D6-E3B6561107C9.htm)

 

Hope that can help.

Best Regards

*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,421
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 2 of 7 (325 Views)

Re: BOM problem

01-20-2014 06:09 AM in reply to: UlviEng

Please post a screen shot of what you are seeing, so we can identify the problen.  Thanks!

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cadtipstricks.wordpress.com//


   

Contributor
UlviEng
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎11-22-2012
Message 3 of 7 (292 Views)

Re: BOM problem

01-20-2014 10:05 AM in reply to: cbenner

Please find attached

 

Cheers

Ulvi

Valued Mentor
BLHDrafting
Posts: 350
Registered: ‎10-12-2012
Message 4 of 7 (254 Views)

Re: BOM problem

01-21-2014 07:54 PM in reply to: UlviEng

My initial thought is to change each of the 14 sub-assemblies to Phantom type. This will promote all of the child parts up 1 level. But this may not be exactly what you want. Are each of the 14 sub-assemblies required to be shown in the Parts List as an assy?

Brendan Henderson

Web www.blh.com.au
Twitter @BLHDrafting

Windows 7 x64 -64 GB Ram, Intel Xeon E5-1620 @ 3.6 GHz
ATI FirePro V7800 2 GB, 180 GB SSD & 1 TB HDD, Inv R2013 PDS Premium SP2 Update 3 (Build 200), Vault 2013 Workgroup Update 2 (Build 17.2.9.0)
Contributor
UlviEng
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎11-22-2012
Message 5 of 7 (235 Views)

Re: BOM problem

01-22-2014 05:52 AM in reply to: UlviEng
Hi,

Actually I have already attepted to go through this version but didn't seem to work as it ignored assembly and basic part turned up itself in qty of 14.

Yes, you heat the nail on the head. I want all 14 sub-assemblies to be visible in BOM.


Product Support
Nicolas.Bourquin
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎01-08-2013
Message 6 of 7 (214 Views)

Re : BOM problem

01-22-2014 11:58 PM in reply to: UlviEng

Dear UlviEng,

Many thanks for your question.

The structured BOM in the assembly could be configured to be merged by part number.

If this is the case, here is a proposition:

>> Open the main top assembly "0831-29122013.iam"

>> Manage >> Bill Of Materials >> select "structured" tab (If necessary "View Option" button >> enable BOM view)

>> click on "Part Number Raw merge Settings" >> disable "enable Row Merge on Part Number Match" option >> ok >> done

>> go back in the drawing containing the part list >> the part list should display all the sub-assemblies.

(For information here is a link on information about "Merging rows in bill of materials":

http://help.autodesk.com/cloudhelp/2014/ENU/Inventor/files/GUID-C6495D82-9A5E-4940-B4D6-E3B6561107C9...)

 

Hope that can help.

Best Regards



Nicolas Bourquin
Contributor
UlviEng
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎11-22-2012
Message 7 of 7 (174 Views)

Re : BOM problem

02-23-2014 11:03 PM in reply to: Nicolas.Bourquin
Dear Nikolas, Thanks for feedback. I tried that way and it divided all frame members into single part in MTO but I when I added the problematic assembly into merge execute list it solved the problem. I accept this information as solution. Thanks for right direction. Regards, Ulvi.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.