Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
ggoodey
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎07-05-2009
Message 1 of 5 (575 Views)

BOM Levels - Display parent & children in parts list

575 Views, 4 Replies
08-14-2011 09:58 PM

Hi

I have an assembly consisting of 4 sub-assemblies.  Item 4 is a mount plate c/w M16 fasteners.

I would like the fasteners to display as sub-parts under item 4 (24520020s) as 4.1, 4.2, etc because they are also purchasable separately.

I do not want to display the mount plate (03241389s) because it's not purchasable separately.

When I expand item 4 in the parts list it automatically turns visibility off for item 4 (24520020s), and only shows the children (0231....s).

I would like to display item 4 & the fasteners only.  Quite simple to turn off visibility of 03241389s, but cannot get the parent and child parts to display at the same time.

 

See attached PDF for clarification.

 

Thanks

Grant

Active Contributor
ggoodey
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎07-05-2009
Message 2 of 5 (412 Views)

Re: BOM Levels - Display parent & children in parts list

04-19-2012 04:15 PM in reply to: ggoodey

Anyone?...

 

 

*Expert Elite*
cwhetten
Posts: 1,072
Registered: ‎09-03-2008
Message 3 of 5 (409 Views)

Re: BOM Levels - Display parent & children in parts list

04-19-2012 04:44 PM in reply to: ggoodey

What version of Inventor?

 

I've never seen it automatically turn off the parent and disallow turning it back on.  What BOM settings do you have?  (structured, first-level / all-levels, etc...)

Active Contributor
ggoodey
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎07-05-2009
Message 4 of 5 (407 Views)

Re: BOM Levels - Display parent & children in parts list

04-19-2012 04:47 PM in reply to: cwhetten

Thanks for the reply

I'm running Inventor 2011 & the BOM is set to structure/all levels

I've never seen it behave otherwise...

Any ideas?

 

Thanks

Grant

*Expert Elite*
cwhetten
Posts: 1,072
Registered: ‎09-03-2008
Message 5 of 5 (395 Views)

Re: BOM Levels - Display parent & children in parts list

04-20-2012 01:29 PM in reply to: ggoodey

I have tried to reproduce the behavior you describe, but I can't.

 

Are you working with files that were originally created by a really old version of Inventor and have been migrated a bunch of times?  (I'm reaching here, as I have no idea why it is doing this to you).

 

I would attach the files I played with so that you could see for yourself what I see, but I my 2012 files will be useless to you.

 

Maybe you could attach some of your files so we can try to see what you are seeing?

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.