Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
ggoodey
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎07-05-2009
Message 1 of 5 (605 Views)

BOM Levels - Display parent & children in parts list

605 Views, 4 Replies
08-14-2011 09:58 PM

Hi

I have an assembly consisting of 4 sub-assemblies.  Item 4 is a mount plate c/w M16 fasteners.

I would like the fasteners to display as sub-parts under item 4 (24520020s) as 4.1, 4.2, etc because they are also purchasable separately.

I do not want to display the mount plate (03241389s) because it's not purchasable separately.

When I expand item 4 in the parts list it automatically turns visibility off for item 4 (24520020s), and only shows the children (0231....s).

I would like to display item 4 & the fasteners only.  Quite simple to turn off visibility of 03241389s, but cannot get the parent and child parts to display at the same time.

 

See attached PDF for clarification.

 

Thanks

Grant

Active Contributor
ggoodey
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎07-05-2009
Message 2 of 5 (442 Views)

Re: BOM Levels - Display parent & children in parts list

04-19-2012 04:15 PM in reply to: ggoodey

Anyone?...

 

 

*Expert Elite*
cwhetten
Posts: 1,089
Registered: ‎09-03-2008
Message 3 of 5 (439 Views)

Re: BOM Levels - Display parent & children in parts list

04-19-2012 04:44 PM in reply to: ggoodey

What version of Inventor?

 

I've never seen it automatically turn off the parent and disallow turning it back on.  What BOM settings do you have?  (structured, first-level / all-levels, etc...)

Active Contributor
ggoodey
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎07-05-2009
Message 4 of 5 (437 Views)

Re: BOM Levels - Display parent & children in parts list

04-19-2012 04:47 PM in reply to: cwhetten

Thanks for the reply

I'm running Inventor 2011 & the BOM is set to structure/all levels

I've never seen it behave otherwise...

Any ideas?

 

Thanks

Grant

*Expert Elite*
cwhetten
Posts: 1,089
Registered: ‎09-03-2008
Message 5 of 5 (425 Views)

Re: BOM Levels - Display parent & children in parts list

04-20-2012 01:29 PM in reply to: ggoodey

I have tried to reproduce the behavior you describe, but I can't.

 

Are you working with files that were originally created by a really old version of Inventor and have been migrated a bunch of times?  (I'm reaching here, as I have no idea why it is doing this to you).

 

I would attach the files I played with so that you could see for yourself what I see, but I my 2012 files will be useless to you.

 

Maybe you could attach some of your files so we can try to see what you are seeing?

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!