Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
Dickerson2012
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎08-31-2012
Message 1 of 6 (499 Views)
Accepted Solution

BOM Default Per IpartMember

499 Views, 5 Replies
03-22-2013 10:13 AM

In a IPartFactory is it possible to change the BOM Default structure per IPartMember?

 

Thanks in advance,

 

Regards,

Hi Dickerson2012,

 

If you open the iPart member file (not the factory file) and go to Tools > Document Settings, you'll see that the button is grayed out, indicating that the iPart member has no Document Settings of it's own. Instead the member file simply uses the Document Settings of the parent factory file. Therefore there simply isn't a mechanism to control the iPart member file's BOM Structure setting independently.

 

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,355
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 2 of 6 (484 Views)

Re: BOM Default Per IpartMember

03-22-2013 11:09 AM in reply to: Dickerson2012

Do you mean a seperate BOM (Parts List) format for each factory member?

If that is the case, maybe through iLogic, but not any other way.

Otherwise providing more detail would be helpful.

 

check.PNGIf this solved your issue please mark this posting "Accept as Solution".

Or if you like something that was said and it was helpful, Kudoskudos.PNG are appreciated. Thanks!!!! :smileyvery-happy:

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2014
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Active Contributor
Dickerson2012
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎08-31-2012
Message 3 of 6 (475 Views)

Re: BOM Default Per IpartMember

03-22-2013 11:46 AM in reply to: Cadmanto

The clients case is as follows:

 

For IPartmember Row #1 they would like the BOM Default Structure to be "Normal"

For IPartmember Row #2 they would like the BOM Default Structure to be "Purchased"

For IPartmember Row #3 they would like the BOM Default Structure to be "Normal"

 

Etc.

 

My understanding is that ILogic when used in the context of a IPart Factory can be unstable or not work at all.

 

Would you have a link to a example of how this would work and/or what event would "trigger" the ILogic to Run

 

Regards,

 

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,355
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 4 of 6 (469 Views)

Re: BOM Default Per IpartMember

03-22-2013 12:00 PM in reply to: Dickerson2012

Honestly, iLogic is not my strong suit.  :smileysad:  I just suggested iLogic thinking someone may respond that could help you in that area.  If indeed that is where you wanted to go.

The only thing I see remotyly close to what youare trying to do is in the factory table under the BOM tab you can choose between "default" and "Reference".  But that is not what I am thinking you are looking for.

Sorry, I can't help you with anymore that that.

 

check.PNGIf this solved your issue please mark this posting "Accept as Solution".

Or if you like something that was said and it was helpful, Kudoskudos.PNG are appreciated. Thanks!!!! :smileyvery-happy:

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2014
(Colossians 3:23-25)

*Expert Elite*
Curtis_Waguespack
Posts: 3,000
Registered: ‎03-08-2006
Message 5 of 6 (460 Views)

Re: BOM Default Per IpartMember

03-22-2013 12:18 PM in reply to: Dickerson2012

Hi Dickerson2012,

 

If you open the iPart member file (not the factory file) and go to Tools > Document Settings, you'll see that the button is grayed out, indicating that the iPart member has no Document Settings of it's own. Instead the member file simply uses the Document Settings of the parent factory file. Therefore there simply isn't a mechanism to control the iPart member file's BOM Structure setting independently.

 

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com



  solution.png  Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or  Kudos button below.





*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,536
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 6 of 6 (455 Views)

Re: BOM Default Per IpartMember

03-22-2013 12:24 PM in reply to: Dickerson2012

My suggestion would be to consider creating an iLogic component instead of using an iPart.

If this wasn't an iPart, then controlling the BOM structure intelligently with iLogic would be a no-brainer.

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.