Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
dane_m_steyne
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎10-01-2011
Message 1 of 5 (158 Views)

bolted connection

158 Views, 4 Replies
08-01-2012 03:14 AM

Greetings

 

I`m joining pipes together using the nut/bolt/washer method using constraints in assembly then using pattern feature.I`ve not used the bolted connection generator before so i am looking for some feedback on whether this is a better method to use.Is there any advantage to using the bolted connection generator over the placement of nuts/bolts/washer with constraints and then using pattern feature?Using 2013

 

Cheers

 

Dane

*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,276
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 2 of 5 (151 Views)

Re: bolted connection

08-01-2012 04:42 AM in reply to: dane_m_steyne

It can be an advantage in speed.  For example, if you use the same combination of fasteners a lot, BC lets you save that configuration for easy selection in the future.  There is also a "follow pattern" built in to the BC Wizard... assuming that the flanges you are using were made with patterned holes, not extrusion features.

 

My advice would be to give it a shot and see how you like it, it really can be a lot quicker when you get the hang of it.  One warning, there are no "studs" in the content center, so if you have studded flanges in your piping like we do... you'll have to make some.  That was NOT easy.

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

Valued Contributor
dane_m_steyne
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎10-01-2011
Message 3 of 5 (122 Views)

Re: bolted connection

08-07-2012 04:40 AM in reply to: dane_m_steyne

Hello Chris

Thanks for the advice.I am going through the bolted connection and i find it good.

 

I have another question please.See the 2 attached INV 2013 examples....does the Bolted Connection work well for this type....How would you work out the thread size of each stud so the Nuts from the BC centre will fit correctly?

 

Thanks again

 

Dane

Valued Contributor
dane_m_steyne
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎10-01-2011
Message 4 of 5 (97 Views)

Re: bolted connection - CBenner

08-08-2012 06:27 AM in reply to: dane_m_steyne

Chris....if you get a chance could you please have a look at my previous post with the 2 examples and give your experience and thoughts

 

Dane

*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,276
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 5 of 5 (86 Views)

Re: bolted connection - CBenner

08-08-2012 10:16 AM in reply to: dane_m_steyne

Dane,

 

I think these would not work so much with bolted connection, since you already have the stud present.  BC wants you to select a bolt as the first item.  For something like this, I usually go to the Content Center and use the Auto Drop for my nuts and washers, then pattern them.  It's more work,... maybe some day they'll make BC work with this type of connection as well.  Maybe I need to add that to the AUGI wish lists.

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.