Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Board Manager
scott.sheppard
Posts: 1,114
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 1 of 11 (2,294 Views)

BIM Family Toolkit Now Available on Autodesk Labs

2294 Views, 10 Replies
11-19-2010 07:36 AM

The BIM Family Toolkit Technology Preview gives you the ability to export Inventor configuration data from iParts and iAssemblies (parameters, file properties, component visibility) directly to Revit families. Once your family data has been imported into Revit, you can create a simplified version and leverage the imported parameters and properties directly in Revit.

 

http://labs.autodesk.com/utilities/bim_family_toolkit/

 

We are looking for feedback on this technology. We can use this thread or you can email us at labs.iv.bim@autodesk.com.



Scott Sheppard
Program Manager
Autodesk Labs
Autodesk, Inc.
Contributor
darwin71
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎01-10-2004
Message 2 of 11 (2,200 Views)

Re: BIM Family Toolkit Now Available on Autodesk Labs

11-23-2010 01:31 PM in reply to: scott.sheppard

Could you make a BIM Family Toolkit that exports both geometry and parameters? I don't see a point in this app if I need to re-model everything in revit...

Board Manager
scott.sheppard
Posts: 1,114
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 11 (2,173 Views)

Re: BIM Family Toolkit Now Available on Autodesk Labs

11-24-2010 08:33 AM in reply to: darwin71

Thank you for the candid feedback. This is one of the things the technology preview is intended to determine.



Scott Sheppard
Program Manager
Autodesk Labs
Autodesk, Inc.
New Member
jaredm
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-25-2011
Message 4 of 11 (1,838 Views)

Re: BIM Family Toolkit Now Available on Autodesk Labs

01-25-2011 12:30 PM in reply to: scott.sheppard

I do not see a need for this toolkit if I can't transfer the geometry as well. If you can make something that will transfer all of your information such as geometry and your properties as well.

 

Plus when I try to import the family table and finish by clicking on import, an error pops up and says "A transaction or sub-transaction was opened but not closed in document 'Family1'. All uncommitted changes to this document made by External Command will be discarded." Please help me to find a solution to this problem.

Board Manager
scott.sheppard
Posts: 1,114
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 11 (1,359 Views)

Re: BIM Family Toolkit Now Available on Autodesk Labs

05-12-2011 12:15 PM in reply to: jaredm

Thank you for the feedback. I understand your desire for the geometry to come along for the ride.



Scott Sheppard
Program Manager
Autodesk Labs
Autodesk, Inc.
Contributor
darwin71
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎01-10-2004
Message 6 of 11 (1,262 Views)

Re: BIM Family Toolkit Now Available on Autodesk Labs

07-08-2011 12:58 PM in reply to: scott.sheppard

Scott, Why is it that Autodesk owns almost all 3d formats on the planet, and still havent figured

out how to bring them into Revit in some proper way?

Distinguished Contributor
elise_moss
Posts: 361
Registered: ‎02-18-2003
Message 7 of 11 (1,259 Views)

Re: BIM Family Toolkit Now Available on Autodesk Labs

07-08-2011 01:05 PM in reply to: darwin71

I am kind of with the rest of the crew on this one. 

 

If I want to create a Revit family, I will do it within Revit.  That way I know everything is going to work properly.

 

That said, I have brought content from Inventor into Revit, but I treat them as dumb solids...I don't expect the content to act as a family at all.  The only reason this might be used if you wanted Inventor content to appear in a schedule, but you could work around that by bringing an inventor model into a generic model, adding the custom parameters you want to appear in a schedule and done.  As long as you aren't wanting to change sizes or modify geometry, it works.

 

Huge disconnect between how real users work and how Autodesk envisions people are using their software to get the job done.

 

elise

Board Manager
scott.sheppard
Posts: 1,114
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 8 of 11 (1,086 Views)

Re: BIM Family Toolkit Now Available on Autodesk Labs

09-08-2011 07:01 AM in reply to: elise_moss

Thank you for this candid feedback. This is why we do technology previews - so we can get customer input early in the process.



Scott Sheppard
Program Manager
Autodesk Labs
Autodesk, Inc.
Board Manager
scott.sheppard
Posts: 1,114
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 9 of 11 (928 Views)

Re: BIM Family Toolkit Now Available on Autodesk Labs

11-20-2011 08:34 AM in reply to: scott.sheppard

I have retired this technology preview from Autodesk Labs. Thanks to everyone who participated.



Scott Sheppard
Program Manager
Autodesk Labs
Autodesk, Inc.
New Member
BillRussell3911
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-21-2012
Message 10 of 11 (748 Views)

Re: BIM Family Toolkit Now Available on Autodesk Labs

04-21-2012 12:40 AM in reply to: scott.sheppard

Can this be released, as I have to export a large number of iparts to Revit and it worked OK when I was testing it before we purchased Revit.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!