Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
SteveFrey
Posts: 517
Registered: ‎09-12-2007
Message 11 of 24 (162 Views)

Re: Bill of Materials Question

04-30-2012 07:00 AM in reply to: Rich.O.3d

So I checked and it is not set with the check mark to substitute.

Steve Frey
Inventor 2013
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit SP1
HP EliteBook 8470w
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3610QM CPU @ 2.30GHz
Memory: 16 GB
AMD FirePro M2000
3D Connexion SpacePilot
Distinguished Contributor
SteveFrey
Posts: 517
Registered: ‎09-12-2007
Message 12 of 24 (145 Views)

Re: Bill of Materials Question

05-01-2012 09:31 AM in reply to: Rich.O.3d

So I checked and my column is formatted differently.  I tried to change it but I didn't have any luck.  Should I be formatting the part column?  I want to combine them into one single total.   

Steve Frey
Inventor 2013
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit SP1
HP EliteBook 8470w
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3610QM CPU @ 2.30GHz
Memory: 16 GB
AMD FirePro M2000
3D Connexion SpacePilot
Product Support
bobvdd
Posts: 552
Registered: ‎11-23-2005
Message 13 of 24 (135 Views)

Re: Bill of Materials Question

05-01-2012 10:11 AM in reply to: SteveFrey

Steve,


What happens if you select the "Enable value substitution" option?
Does that not open up access to  "Sum of values"  in the dropdown just below on the right? 

 

Bob

Distinguished Contributor
SteveFrey
Posts: 517
Registered: ‎09-12-2007
Message 14 of 24 (129 Views)

Re: Bill of Materials Question

05-01-2012 10:36 AM in reply to: bobvdd

It does open up access to the sum of values drop down.  I'm just not sure what to set it at.

Steve Frey
Inventor 2013
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit SP1
HP EliteBook 8470w
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3610QM CPU @ 2.30GHz
Memory: 16 GB
AMD FirePro M2000
3D Connexion SpacePilot
Product Support
bobvdd
Posts: 552
Registered: ‎11-23-2005
Message 15 of 24 (122 Views)

Re: Bill of Materials Question

05-01-2012 12:06 PM in reply to: SteveFrey

You are supposed to enter a custom property or an iproperty that represents the length of your part.

Not sure of you have such a custom property.

 

Here is another approach. I tried to explain step by step. All steps are essential to make the summation work properly: 

 

1. Open your PART A ipt file

2. In the Parameter dialog, rename the d* parameter of your part that represents its length to "length"

3. Assign a value to the stocknumber (don't leave it blank)

5. In the document settings of the part on the Bill of Materials tab,  set the base qty = length

4. Modify your part to become an ipart and create a different member for each length

6. Insert ipart members in the assembly

7.Create a drawing view and parts list of your assembly

8. Edit the parts list

9. Use the Group settings button and check the group button and set your first key to Stocknumber

 

At this point your parts list should roll up on the stocknumber (if all your stocknumbers are identical) and the total length will be shown in the QTY column.

I can shoot a video for you if this looks all too complex.

 

Bob

Distinguished Contributor
SteveFrey
Posts: 517
Registered: ‎09-12-2007
Message 16 of 24 (119 Views)

Re: Bill of Materials Question

05-01-2012 12:10 PM in reply to: bobvdd

I will try it step by step but a video would make it easier.  It's wierd, some of my assemblies total everything and some of them list each one separatey.  It must be set in the template that I originally created them with.

 

Thanks,

 

Steve

Steve Frey
Inventor 2013
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit SP1
HP EliteBook 8470w
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3610QM CPU @ 2.30GHz
Memory: 16 GB
AMD FirePro M2000
3D Connexion SpacePilot
Distinguished Contributor
SteveFrey
Posts: 517
Registered: ‎09-12-2007
Message 17 of 24 (115 Views)

Re: Bill of Materials Question

05-01-2012 01:03 PM in reply to: bobvdd

You said to put the ipart members into the assembly.  Does it matter if these are parts, not iparts?

Steve Frey
Inventor 2013
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit SP1
HP EliteBook 8470w
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3610QM CPU @ 2.30GHz
Memory: 16 GB
AMD FirePro M2000
3D Connexion SpacePilot
Distinguished Contributor
SteveFrey
Posts: 517
Registered: ‎09-12-2007
Message 18 of 24 (115 Views)

Re: Bill of Materials Question

05-01-2012 01:07 PM in reply to: bobvdd

The other thing I did not mention is that they are all frame generator based parts.  With this being the case would I need to set the parameter to "length" in the base part in the content center?

Steve Frey
Inventor 2013
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit SP1
HP EliteBook 8470w
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3610QM CPU @ 2.30GHz
Memory: 16 GB
AMD FirePro M2000
3D Connexion SpacePilot
Product Support
bobvdd
Posts: 552
Registered: ‎11-23-2005
Message 19 of 24 (110 Views)

Re: Bill of Materials Question

05-01-2012 01:28 PM in reply to: SteveFrey

If these are framegenerator parts, it is so much simpler. Wish you had mentioned that  in the first place. :-(

 

You don't need iparts and you don't need to change parameters or set document settings. A framegenerator part is already set up in the right way to allow parts list roll-up on the QTY column.

 

The only thing to do is step 9 (Group your QTY column on the stocknumber) and your parts list should be fine.

 

Bob

Distinguished Contributor
SteveFrey
Posts: 517
Registered: ‎09-12-2007
Message 20 of 24 (110 Views)

Re: Bill of Materials Question

05-01-2012 01:48 PM in reply to: bobvdd

Okay.  What you're saying makes sense but its not working.  Hmmm.   What could I be doing wrong?

Steve Frey
Inventor 2013
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit SP1
HP EliteBook 8470w
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3610QM CPU @ 2.30GHz
Memory: 16 GB
AMD FirePro M2000
3D Connexion SpacePilot
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.