Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best Practice Inventor Project File Vault Setup

9 REPLIES 9
Message 1 of 10
jazzy283
1753 Views, 9 Replies

Best Practice Inventor Project File Vault Setup

So, complete noob here. Many many many many years using PTC Windchill and ProEngineer/CREO.

Just trying to understand the best practices for working with Inventor and Vault, specifically what to do with the project files.

I have a single vault project file at the root of the vault.

Here is my structure.

$

Vault_Project_File.ipj

Libraries

Projects

Project 1

Project 2

So is it possible to change the workspace setting when working on different projects? It seems rather annoying to have the save dialog box always go to the root workspace folder. I guess the general questions is how to deal with working on different projects/folders with a single project file with the utmost efficiency?

What else do I need to understand with how Inventor works with vault?

There are a few posts out there but didn't see too much and the help files are rather lacking. Any further information is greatly appreciated.

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
salariua
in reply to: jazzy283

Welcome to the forum.

You can add Freqently Used Foldes to your project to speed up your navigation but if you have multiple project and you open from Vault it will ask you everytime "what project do you want to use to open this file?"

Everywhere I've been a "one project" procedure was in place for using with vault.You can also add shortcuts in your workspace folder to take you to your current project.

535.jpg

536.jpg

Adrian S.
blog.ads-sol.com 

AIP2012-2020 i7 6700k AMD R9 370
Did you find this reply helpful ?
If so please use the Accepted Solutions or Like button - Thank you!
Message 3 of 10
jazzy283
in reply to: salariua