Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bending a curved part

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
albmopar
525 Views, 6 Replies

Bending a curved part

I am trying to bend a convex part, but can't seem to make it work.  Any help would be great

Inventor Pro 2014, SP1

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
TrentMayberry3
in reply to: albmopar

Hi, before I start out I'd like to say that I am extremely new to Inventor, so there's probably not a whole lot I can help you with, but I'm looking at the part and I'm just wondering which piece on it you are looking to bend.

Message 3 of 7
albmopar
in reply to: TrentMayberry3

The three tabs are curved and need to be bent down.  I made them solid lofts, cause I could figure out how to make them sheet metal lofts.  These tabs need to bent down, as shown in the drawing.

Message 4 of 7
JDMather

I would not use Fold.

I would not use Bend.

I would model in the finished form.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

The CADWhisperer YouTube Channel

EESignature

Message 5 of 7

Hi albmopar,

Attached is a real quick example file that should give you some ideas about how you might approach this. Note that I made no attempt to follow the dimensions and inputs, and only roughly followed the shape of the part. So look to this example as a tip towards the general methods and tools to use and not as a step by step of how you should proceed.

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com

Message 6 of 7