Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Member
Rzeszot
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-17-2013
Message 1 of 9 (660 Views)
Accepted Solution

Automatic idw filename

660 Views, 8 Replies
01-17-2013 04:53 AM

I've recently changed idw template and since then when I put part view into new draft the file name don't change into source file name.

In standard template, when I save the .idw file it automaticly propose name that is equal to source .ipt and .iam.

 

Where is the problem? Why when I'm saving files it won't propose file name the same as the source ipt file name?

HI Rzeszot,

Try this:

Open your template file.

Click once on the file name, and then once again slowly, to select the name, as shown.

Type a space to replace the name.

Press the Enter key.

This should reset the name.

Then you can save as your template again.

 

If that doesn't work please post your file and state the version as sbixler suggests.

 

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com

 

 

Autodesk Inventor Drawing File Name Reset.png

Valued Mentor
Mason-Paul
Posts: 370
Registered: ‎04-04-2012
Message 2 of 9 (652 Views)

Re: Automatic idw filename

01-17-2013 06:29 AM in reply to: Rzeszot

Have you got your default  template to the correct location? This should be the same location as the default templates, as shown in attached "new template. jpg" inch is the new template in this case, as shown

 

You will need to make sure that the iproperties are entered in the source file as these are used to fill in the automated text entries in your template if these are blank then the corresponding part of you title-block will be blank

 

You also need to make sure that you have selected the correct file name as there are several options in the definition table that can affect you template. See the attached(Idw Filename template.jpg)  for IDW Name = Source File Name (but with .idw extension when saved)

 

With  the IDW=Source File Name, as above, setting the only time that you should be prompted for a file name is if that IDW file already exist that will be the usual windows prompt

 

 

================
Inventor 2014 Pro

HP xw8400 workstation
2 x Xeon duel-core 3Ghz CPU , 32 GB Ram
64bit Windows 7 Pro

AMD FirePro V3900 (ATI FireGL) (1GB RAM)
=================
Ashington Northumberland (UK) ~ Home to the WORLD FAMOUS Pitman Painters Group
*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,952
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 3 of 9 (641 Views)

Re: Automatic idw filename

01-17-2013 06:35 AM in reply to: Rzeszot

What file name does it suggest?  And what Inventor version are you using?

Sam B
Inventor 2012 Certified Professional

Please click "Accept as Solution" if this response answers your question.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Inventor Professional 2013 SP1.1 Update 1
Windows XP Pro 32-bit, SP3
HP EliteBook 8730w; 4 GB RAM; Core™ 2 Duo T9400 2.53 GHz; Quadro FX2700M
SpaceExplorer/SpaceNavigator NB, driver 3.7.18
still waiting for a foreshortened radius dimensioning tool in Drawing Manager

Member
Rzeszot
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-17-2013
Message 4 of 9 (634 Views)

Re: Automatic idw filename

01-17-2013 06:39 AM in reply to: sbixler

The same as in the left column (see attachment)

*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,952
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 5 of 9 (621 Views)

Re: Automatic idw filename

01-17-2013 06:53 AM in reply to: Rzeszot

In your template, delete the name 'TEST' as shown in your image.  Inventor will then replace it with the name of the template file.  It should now work as you expect.

 

When the name of the drawing is edited like that, it forces that name to be used for files created from it.  It might be useful in some situations, but not for you.

Sam B
Inventor 2012 Certified Professional

Please click "Accept as Solution" if this response answers your question.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Inventor Professional 2013 SP1.1 Update 1
Windows XP Pro 32-bit, SP3
HP EliteBook 8730w; 4 GB RAM; Core™ 2 Duo T9400 2.53 GHz; Quadro FX2700M
SpaceExplorer/SpaceNavigator NB, driver 3.7.18
still waiting for a foreshortened radius dimensioning tool in Drawing Manager

Member
Rzeszot
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-17-2013
Message 6 of 9 (618 Views)

Re: Automatic idw filename

01-17-2013 07:00 AM in reply to: sbixler

I've tried to do such thing but I can't delete this.

*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,952
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 7 of 9 (609 Views)

Re: Automatic idw filename

01-17-2013 07:12 AM in reply to: Rzeszot

Can you post the file here?  And please say what version of Inventor you are using.

Sam B
Inventor 2012 Certified Professional

Please click "Accept as Solution" if this response answers your question.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Inventor Professional 2013 SP1.1 Update 1
Windows XP Pro 32-bit, SP3
HP EliteBook 8730w; 4 GB RAM; Core™ 2 Duo T9400 2.53 GHz; Quadro FX2700M
SpaceExplorer/SpaceNavigator NB, driver 3.7.18
still waiting for a foreshortened radius dimensioning tool in Drawing Manager

*Expert Elite*
Curtis_Waguespack
Posts: 2,987
Registered: ‎03-08-2006
Message 8 of 9 (608 Views)

Re: Automatic idw filename

01-17-2013 07:14 AM in reply to: Rzeszot

HI Rzeszot,

Try this:

Open your template file.

Click once on the file name, and then once again slowly, to select the name, as shown.

Type a space to replace the name.

Press the Enter key.

This should reset the name.

Then you can save as your template again.

 

If that doesn't work please post your file and state the version as sbixler suggests.

 

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com

 

 

Autodesk Inventor Drawing File Name Reset.png



  solution.png  Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or  Kudos button below.





Member
Rzeszot
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-17-2013
Message 9 of 9 (564 Views)

Re: Automatic idw filename

01-17-2013 11:21 PM in reply to: Curtis_Waguespack

The space button helped in this problem. Thanks for help

 

Best regards

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!