Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Autodesk Inventor related jobs?

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
Anonymous
3603 Views, 5 Replies

Autodesk Inventor related jobs?

Hello Sorry if this question has been asked before, but I am completely new to Autodesk Inventor family and was curious what sort of jobs are there for people specializing in Autodesk Inventor? Is it any different than AutoCAD jobs? Most of the people I know have heard of AutoCAD but not of Inventor. Is Autodesk Inventor only useful for medium to large corporate projects or are there people who use it for small personal projects too?

Thanks,

Sahat

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
JDMather
in reply to: Anonymous

@Anonymous wrote:

Most of the people I know have heard of AutoCAD but not of Inventor.  

Thanks,

Sahat

I teach AutoCAD, Inventor, SolidWorks and Pro/E.
Most of my students use Inventor, SolidWorks or Pro/E when they graduate.   Most use Inventor or SolidWorks.

A few end up using AutoCAD if they can't find something else.  This past spring was surprisingly good (vs my expectations) in placement rate considering the poor economy that we are supposed to be in.

The companies range from very small (1 designer) to very large.

Many of the positions that were placed as AutoCAD were actually Inventor.  Seems that most HR people have heard of AutoCAD but not aware of the difference between AutoCAD and Inventor.  Autodesk muddied the distinction (I suspect on purpose) by renaming the product suite "AutoCAD Inventor" last year.