Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Autodesk Inventor Dynamic Simulation

7 REPLIES 7
SOLVED
Message 1 of 8
pquenzi
3116 Views, 7 Replies

Autodesk Inventor Dynamic Simulation

I am new to Inventor 2014 Dynamic Simulation and would greatly appreciate more detailed information on making joints than can be found in the tutorials.  This is one fantastic tool and I would like to learn to use it.

I do have a specific question. I made a simple simulation of a freely falling cylinder with rounded nose falling onto a transverse fixed cylinder using a 2d contact joint. The simulation showed the falling cylinder make contact and bounce back as it should. The output grapher showed the forces generated at contact on each bounce. I did some fairly simple physics calculations to see if my calculated forces were in the same ballpart as the dynamic simulation forces and they were within reason. When I changed material on the falling cylinder from steel to rubber the contact forces dropped. However, when I changed material on the stationary cylinder from steel to rubber, the contact forces did not change. Can anyone tell me the procedure used in dynamic simulation to generate these contact forces. Thanks for the help. Phil

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
JDMather
in reply to: pquenzi

Attach your assembly here.

Get the Wasim Younis Book 2 from Amazon.com

This was an interesting assembly posted yesterday

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Inventor-General/Dynamic-Simulation-Parameters/td-p/4702905

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

The CADWhisperer YouTube Channel

EESignature

Message 3 of 8
LT.Rusty
in reply to: JDMather