Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,200
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 1 of 10 (858 Views)
Accepted Solution

Autodesk - FEA Functionality Regression

858 Views, 9 Replies
09-03-2010 12:24 PM

A couple of years ago I would have my student do a weight reduction exercise by creating cuts of various size and shape in a part in the areas that showed low stress/high safety factor.  With the sketches visible and set to Undeformed we could visually see where to change dimensions between analysis.  This visual representation is much more powerful than setting parameter analysis alone (that has it's place too, and we do use that as well).

But now we cannot see sketches while results are active (must right click and uncheck Active). So we have to toggle between Active/not Active and guess the approximate locations of areas of interest.   I think this behavior regressed in 2010 release.

 

There often cases where the human eye and intellegence can reach a solution much faster than the computer tool by itself.

 

I hope I have explained this well as I don't have a screen capture of the older behavior.  If not let me know and I will put together some composite images.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm

Hi JD,

 

  You are correct.  We changed the behavior in R2010 such that when results are in view, we turn off the visibility of sketches, workfeatures, etc. automatically so that it won't obscure the view.

 

  Also note that we cannot access the model browser while in the SA enviornment to turn the visibility back on.

 

  Would you like me to log a wish list on either of these two items?  Perhaps we can make a setting where you can toggle the visiblilty behavior on or off.

 

Thanks and Best regards, -Hugh

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,200
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 10 (853 Views)

Re: Autodesk - FEA Functionality Regression

09-03-2010 12:48 PM in reply to: JDMather

Oh wow, this is truelly maddening.

 

By accident I just discovered if I toggle between active part files the dimensions suddenly become visible. 

 

LOL, whatever workaround works.

 

I'll have to experiment on some other machines and see if it is related to my graphics card or something else.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,200
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 3 of 10 (849 Views)

Re: Autodesk - FEA Functionality Regression

09-03-2010 12:54 PM in reply to: JDMather

Well my experiments get even more interesting.

It is not enough to toggle between open files. 

After running a new analysis toggling to an open file doesn't do the trick.  I have to start a new file and then go back to the analysis part file.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Employee
henderh
Posts: 651
Registered: ‎06-07-2007
Message 4 of 10 (831 Views)

Re: Autodesk - FEA Functionality Regression

09-03-2010 02:04 PM in reply to: JDMather

Hi JD,

 

  You are correct.  We changed the behavior in R2010 such that when results are in view, we turn off the visibility of sketches, workfeatures, etc. automatically so that it won't obscure the view.

 

  Also note that we cannot access the model browser while in the SA enviornment to turn the visibility back on.

 

  Would you like me to log a wish list on either of these two items?  Perhaps we can make a setting where you can toggle the visiblilty behavior on or off.

 

Thanks and Best regards, -Hugh



Hugh Henderson
Simulation QA Engineer
DLS
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,200
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 5 of 10 (827 Views)

Re: Autodesk - FEA Functionality Regression

09-03-2010 02:16 PM in reply to: henderh

henderh wrote:

  Would you like me to log a wish list on either of these two items?  Perhaps we can make a setting where you can toggle the visiblilty behavior on or off.

 

Thanks and Best regards, -Hugh


Yes, seems to me like it would be an obvious enhancement if you follow the logic of my lab experiment that we do to optimize a part.
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Employee
henderh
Posts: 651
Registered: ‎06-07-2007
Message 6 of 10 (822 Views)

Re: Autodesk - FEA Functionality Regression

09-03-2010 02:22 PM in reply to: JDMather

Hi JD,

 

  It is logged in our tracking system as 1343967 "Do not turn off visibility of sketch dimensions with results view".

 

  Any comment on re-exposing the model browser?



Hugh Henderson
Simulation QA Engineer
DLS
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,200
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 7 of 10 (376 Views)

Re: Autodesk - FEA Functionality Regression

09-19-2012 06:54 AM in reply to: henderh

New semester - my old trick doesn't work in 2013.

We need to be able to visually see the analysis results and a visible sketch to make intellegent edits.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Employee
henderh
Posts: 651
Registered: ‎06-07-2007
Message 8 of 10 (351 Views)

Re: Autodesk - FEA Functionality Regression

09-19-2012 09:45 AM in reply to: JDMather

Hi JD,

 

  The 2D Sketch Visibility can be toggled on while in results view in R2013 (image attached)

 

  View tab => Object Visibility pull-down => 2D Sketches checkbox

 

  I hope this is satisfactory.  Please let us know if you have any additional questions, comments or suggestions.

 

Best regards, -Hugh



Hugh Henderson
Simulation QA Engineer
DLS
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,200
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 9 of 10 (336 Views)

Re: Autodesk - FEA Functionality Regression

09-19-2012 11:03 AM in reply to: henderh

I'm surprised that none of my students found that solution this moring - I even offered bonus points if someone could find a solution.

 

I guess you get the bonus :smileylol:

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,200
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 10 of 10 (325 Views)

Re: Autodesk - FEA Functionality Regression

09-19-2012 12:14 PM in reply to: JDMather

Well in my initial (quick) test that solution doesn't work out well.

You can change a dimension, but as soon as you except the change you lose the analysis view and have to re-activate it and the sketch visibility.  If you are only making one change at a time and re-running the anlaysis this OK, but if you are making several dimension changes..... ... like x and y position of a hole in addition to diameter....

 

We are also using this technique in conjunction with the Parametric Table, but we can visually see areas of easy change when looking at the analysis that as far as I know - Inventor still has no way of recognizing, and even if it did the designer would still have to make the decision based on Design for Manufacturability and other concerns exactly how and what to change.

We really need to see a persistant sketch and the analysis Shading.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.