Inventor General Discussion

Reply
*Harvey, Paul
Message 1 of 9 (67 Views)

autocad sketch to ipt - line colors obscure color visual keys

67 Views, 8 Replies
12-06-2002 02:05 AM
When I bring in a bunch of lines from an AutoCAD to use as a basis for a
sketch, the lines are the same color as in AutoCAD. This is not good because
I'm depending on seeing the unconstrained lines as green, then turn to black
as they get nailed down. Is there a way to prevent this from happening, i.e.
sketch objects from an AutoCAD drawing come in green if unconstrained?

And another thing, is there a way to "resolve" the sketch so that obvious
constraints are applied automatically as the lines are brought in. Currently
there are absolutely no sketch constraints applied to these objects. It's
quite a pain applying horizontal, vertical, tangent constraints etcetera
(especially when there's no visual cue to tell you when you're done).

Thanks in advance
*Keller, Kent
Message 2 of 9 (67 Views)

Re: autocad sketch to ipt - line colors obscure color visual keys

12-06-2002 02:07 AM in reply to: *Harvey, Paul
I don't do much with AutoCAD sketches but have you tried the AutoDim tool? Also when you
bring them in are you going though options and making sure the endpoints are constrained?

Sorry no ideas on the color

--
Kent
Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program


"Paul Harvey" wrote in message
news:F182BCD2C1AB59464295A820B803761F@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...

> And another thing, is there a way to "resolve" the sketch so that obvious
> constraints are applied automatically as the lines are brought in. Currently
> there are absolutely no sketch constraints applied to these objects. It's
> quite a pain applying horizontal, vertical, tangent constraints etcetera
> (especially when there's no visual cue to tell you when you're done).
>
> Thanks in advance
>
>
*Harvey, Paul
Message 3 of 9 (67 Views)

Re:

12-06-2002 02:14 AM in reply to: *Harvey, Paul
Yes I have checked the "constrain end points" option. And thanks for the tip
on the AutoDim tool; that seems to lock the thing down real good and tight.
So I guess I don't care if it's constrained this time. But the colored lines
thing is still a mystery to me. It shouldn't oughta be that way.

"Kent Keller" wrote in message
news:1E2F593DA922028A0C81D327DAC66426@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> I don't do much with AutoCAD sketches but have you tried the AutoDim tool?
Also when you
> bring them in are you going though options and making sure the endpoints
are constrained?
>
> Sorry no ideas on the color
>
> --
> Kent
> Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
>
>
> "Paul Harvey" wrote in message
> news:F182BCD2C1AB59464295A820B803761F@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
>
> > And another thing, is there a way to "resolve" the sketch so that
obvious
> > constraints are applied automatically as the lines are brought in.
Currently
> > there are absolutely no sketch constraints applied to these objects.
It's
> > quite a pain applying horizontal, vertical, tangent constraints etcetera
> > (especially when there's no visual cue to tell you when you're done).
> >
> > Thanks in advance
> >
> >
>
>
*Harvey, Paul
Message 4 of 9 (67 Views)

Re:

12-06-2002 02:17 AM in reply to: *Harvey, Paul
Yes I have checked the "constrain end points" option. And thanks for the tip
on the AutoDim tool; that seems to lock the thing down real good and tight.
So I guess I don't care if it's constrained this time. But the colored lines
thing is still a mystery to me. It shouldn't oughta be that way.

"Kent Keller" wrote in message
news:1E2F593DA922028A0C81D327DAC66426@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> I don't do much with AutoCAD sketches but have you tried the AutoDim tool?
Also when you
> bring them in are you going though options and making sure the endpoints
are constrained?
>
> Sorry no ideas on the color
>
> --
> Kent
> Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
>
>
> "Paul Harvey" wrote in message
> news:F182BCD2C1AB59464295A820B803761F@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
>
> > And another thing, is there a way to "resolve" the sketch so that
obvious
> > constraints are applied automatically as the lines are brought in.
Currently
> > there are absolutely no sketch constraints applied to these objects.
It's
> > quite a pain applying horizontal, vertical, tangent constraints etcetera
> > (especially when there's no visual cue to tell you when you're done).
> >
> > Thanks in advance
> >
> >
>
>
*J, Dave
Message 5 of 9 (67 Views)

Re:

12-06-2002 02:17 AM in reply to: *Harvey, Paul
Is AutoCAD, is the line color ByLayer? or a set color?

--
Dave Jacquemotte
davej@autoconcorp.com


"Paul Harvey" wrote in message
news:9B6915089794E1C103F0A4618E34E64F@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Yes I have checked the "constrain end points" option. And thanks for the tip
> on the AutoDim tool; that seems to lock the thing down real good and tight.
> So I guess I don't care if it's constrained this time. But the colored lines
> thing is still a mystery to me. It shouldn't oughta be that way.
>
> "Kent Keller" wrote in message
> news:1E2F593DA922028A0C81D327DAC66426@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > I don't do much with AutoCAD sketches but have you tried the AutoDim tool?
> Also when you
> > bring them in are you going though options and making sure the endpoints
> are constrained?
> >
> > Sorry no ideas on the color
> >
> > --
> > Kent
> > Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
> >
> >
> > "Paul Harvey" wrote in message
> > news:F182BCD2C1AB59464295A820B803761F@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> >
> > > And another thing, is there a way to "resolve" the sketch so that
> obvious
> > > constraints are applied automatically as the lines are brought in.
> Currently
> > > there are absolutely no sketch constraints applied to these objects.
> It's
> > > quite a pain applying horizontal, vertical, tangent constraints etcetera
> > > (especially when there's no visual cue to tell you when you're done).
> > >
> > > Thanks in advance
> > >
> > >
> >
> >
>
>
>
>
*Harvey, Paul
Message 6 of 9 (67 Views)

Re:

12-06-2002 02:24 AM in reply to: *Harvey, Paul
Bylayer and all lines are on layer 0. Layer 0 is set to it's default color
(7). About the most basic set of lines that one could imagine. If it was
going to work right with any set of data, this would have been it.

"Dave J" wrote in message
news:7CD2F3E5AAC7D48DD383FE6EF6224F45@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Is AutoCAD, is the line color ByLayer? or a set color?
>
> --
> Dave Jacquemotte
> davej@autoconcorp.com
>
>
> "Paul Harvey" wrote in message
> news:9B6915089794E1C103F0A4618E34E64F@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > Yes I have checked the "constrain end points" option. And thanks for the
tip
> > on the AutoDim tool; that seems to lock the thing down real good and
tight.
> > So I guess I don't care if it's constrained this time. But the colored
lines
> > thing is still a mystery to me. It shouldn't oughta be that way.
> >
> > "Kent Keller" wrote in message
> > news:1E2F593DA922028A0C81D327DAC66426@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > > I don't do much with AutoCAD sketches but have you tried the AutoDim
tool?
> > Also when you
> > > bring them in are you going though options and making sure the
endpoints
> > are constrained?
> > >
> > > Sorry no ideas on the color
> > >
> > > --
> > > Kent
> > > Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
> > >
> > >
> > > "Paul Harvey" wrote in message
> > > news:F182BCD2C1AB59464295A820B803761F@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > >
> > > > And another thing, is there a way to "resolve" the sketch so that
> > obvious
> > > > constraints are applied automatically as the lines are brought in.
> > Currently
> > > > there are absolutely no sketch constraints applied to these objects.
> > It's
> > > > quite a pain applying horizontal, vertical, tangent constraints
etcetera
> > > > (especially when there's no visual cue to tell you when you're
done).
> > > >
> > > > Thanks in advance
> > > >
> > > >
> > >
> > >
> >
> >
> >
> >
>
>
*Myers, Kim
Message 7 of 9 (67 Views)

Re:

12-06-2002 02:44 AM in reply to: *Harvey, Paul
I have noticed this too, and it appears to definatly be a bug. I know this
worked in 5.3. You can open your AutoCAD sketch into an .idw then copy and
paste into your .ipt sketch. This is a pain but your lines will change to
black once constrained. Also if you change one of the AutoCAD lines to
centerline or construction it will behave properly but not show correctly.

Autodesk: Is this a bug that you know about?



"Paul Harvey" wrote in message
news:64B517F010DED31800BA944DABA9E23C@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Bylayer and all lines are on layer 0. Layer 0 is set to it's default color
> (7). About the most basic set of lines that one could imagine. If it was
> going to work right with any set of data, this would have been it.
>
> "Dave J" wrote in message
> news:7CD2F3E5AAC7D48DD383FE6EF6224F45@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > Is AutoCAD, is the line color ByLayer? or a set color?
> >
> > --
> > Dave Jacquemotte
> > davej@autoconcorp.com
> >
> >
> > "Paul Harvey" wrote in message
> > news:9B6915089794E1C103F0A4618E34E64F@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > > Yes I have checked the "constrain end points" option. And thanks for
the
> tip
> > > on the AutoDim tool; that seems to lock the thing down real good and
> tight.
> > > So I guess I don't care if it's constrained this time. But the colored
> lines
> > > thing is still a mystery to me. It shouldn't oughta be that way.
> > >
> > > "Kent Keller" wrote in message
> > > news:1E2F593DA922028A0C81D327DAC66426@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > > > I don't do much with AutoCAD sketches but have you tried the AutoDim
> tool?
> > > Also when you
> > > > bring them in are you going though options and making sure the
> endpoints
> > > are constrained?
> > > >
> > > > Sorry no ideas on the color
> > > >
> > > > --
> > > > Kent
> > > > Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
> > > >
> > > >
> > > > "Paul Harvey" wrote in message
> > > > news:F182BCD2C1AB59464295A820B803761F@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > > >
> > > > > And another thing, is there a way to "resolve" the sketch so that
> > > obvious
> > > > > constraints are applied automatically as the lines are brought in.
> > > Currently
> > > > > there are absolutely no sketch constraints applied to these
objects.
> > > It's
> > > > > quite a pain applying horizontal, vertical, tangent constraints
> etcetera
> > > > > (especially when there's no visual cue to tell you when you're
> done).
> > > > >
> > > > > Thanks in advance
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > > >
> > > >
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > >
> >
> >
>
>
*Harvey, Paul
Message 8 of 9 (67 Views)

Re:

12-06-2002 04:28 AM in reply to: *Harvey, Paul
BINGO Kim this is what I would call a bug!

Yes when you bring it in on a sketch in an IDW you can right click after a
window select and change the colors back to "standard" THEN copy / paste the
objects into a sketch in IPT. There is no Properties menu option in the
right click menu after a window select in the IPT sketch mode.

How do you log a bug?

"Kim Myers" <---> wrote in message
news:0EE5C66AB14885E0B0B5859BBC432790@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> I have noticed this too, and it appears to definatly be a bug. I know
this
> worked in 5.3. You can open your AutoCAD sketch into an .idw then copy
and
> paste into your .ipt sketch. This is a pain but your lines will change to
> black once constrained. Also if you change one of the AutoCAD lines to
> centerline or construction it will behave properly but not show correctly.
>
> Autodesk: Is this a bug that you know about?
>
>
>
> "Paul Harvey" wrote in message
> news:64B517F010DED31800BA944DABA9E23C@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > Bylayer and all lines are on layer 0. Layer 0 is set to it's default
color
> > (7). About the most basic set of lines that one could imagine. If it was
> > going to work right with any set of data, this would have been it.
> >
> > "Dave J" wrote in message
> > news:7CD2F3E5AAC7D48DD383FE6EF6224F45@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > > Is AutoCAD, is the line color ByLayer? or a set color?
> > >
> > > --
> > > Dave Jacquemotte
> > > davej@autoconcorp.com
> > >
> > >
> > > "Paul Harvey" wrote in message
> > > news:9B6915089794E1C103F0A4618E34E64F@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > > > Yes I have checked the "constrain end points" option. And thanks for
> the
> > tip
> > > > on the AutoDim tool; that seems to lock the thing down real good and
> > tight.
> > > > So I guess I don't care if it's constrained this time. But the
colored
> > lines
> > > > thing is still a mystery to me. It shouldn't oughta be that way.
> > > >
> > > > "Kent Keller" wrote in message
> > > > news:1E2F593DA922028A0C81D327DAC66426@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > > > > I don't do much with AutoCAD sketches but have you tried the
AutoDim
> > tool?
> > > > Also when you
> > > > > bring them in are you going though options and making sure the
> > endpoints
> > > > are constrained?
> > > > >
> > > > > Sorry no ideas on the color
> > > > >
> > > > > --
> > > > > Kent
> > > > > Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > > > > "Paul Harvey" wrote in message
> > > > > news:F182BCD2C1AB59464295A820B803761F@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > > > >
> > > > > > And another thing, is there a way to "resolve" the sketch so
that
> > > > obvious
> > > > > > constraints are applied automatically as the lines are brought
in.
> > > > Currently
> > > > > > there are absolutely no sketch constraints applied to these
> objects.
> > > > It's
> > > > > > quite a pain applying horizontal, vertical, tangent constraints
> > etcetera
> > > > > > (especially when there's no visual cue to tell you when you're
> > done).
> > > > > >
> > > > > > Thanks in advance
> > > > > >
> > > > > >
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > > >
> > > >
> > > >
> > > >
> > >
> > >
> >
> >
>
>
*Dotson, Sean
Message 9 of 9 (67 Views)

Re:

12-06-2002 04:34 AM in reply to: *Harvey, Paul
see the FAQ there are direction in it...

--
Sean Dotson, PE
http://www.sdotson.com
Check the Inventor FAQ for most common questions
http://www.sdotson.com/faq.html
-----------------------------------------
"Paul Harvey" wrote in message
news:C8B8D4E356104E6365FDF5402BC9F918@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> BINGO Kim this is what I would call a bug!
>
> Yes when you bring it in on a sketch in an IDW you can right click after a
> window select and change the colors back to "standard" THEN copy / paste
the
> objects into a sketch in IPT. There is no Properties menu option in the
> right click menu after a window select in the IPT sketch mode.
>
> How do you log a bug?
>
> "Kim Myers" <---> wrote in message
> news:0EE5C66AB14885E0B0B5859BBC432790@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > I have noticed this too, and it appears to definatly be a bug. I know
> this
> > worked in 5.3. You can open your AutoCAD sketch into an .idw then copy
> and
> > paste into your .ipt sketch. This is a pain but your lines will change
to
> > black once constrained. Also if you change one of the AutoCAD lines to
> > centerline or construction it will behave properly but not show
correctly.
> >
> > Autodesk: Is this a bug that you know about?
> >
> >
> >
> > "Paul Harvey" wrote in message
> > news:64B517F010DED31800BA944DABA9E23C@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > > Bylayer and all lines are on layer 0. Layer 0 is set to it's default
> color
> > > (7). About the most basic set of lines that one could imagine. If it
was
> > > going to work right with any set of data, this would have been it.
> > >
> > > "Dave J" wrote in message
> > > news:7CD2F3E5AAC7D48DD383FE6EF6224F45@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > > > Is AutoCAD, is the line color ByLayer? or a set color?
> > > >
> > > > --
> > > > Dave Jacquemotte
> > > > davej@autoconcorp.com
> > > >
> > > >
> > > > "Paul Harvey" wrote in message
> > > > news:9B6915089794E1C103F0A4618E34E64F@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > > > > Yes I have checked the "constrain end points" option. And thanks
for
> > the
> > > tip
> > > > > on the AutoDim tool; that seems to lock the thing down real good
and
> > > tight.
> > > > > So I guess I don't care if it's constrained this time. But the
> colored
> > > lines
> > > > > thing is still a mystery to me. It shouldn't oughta be that way.
> > > > >
> > > > > "Kent Keller" wrote in message
> > > > > news:1E2F593DA922028A0C81D327DAC66426@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > > > > > I don't do much with AutoCAD sketches but have you tried the
> AutoDim
> > > tool?
> > > > > Also when you
> > > > > > bring them in are you going though options and making sure the
> > > endpoints
> > > > > are constrained?
> > > > > >
> > > > > > Sorry no ideas on the color
> > > > > >
> > > > > > --
> > > > > > Kent
> > > > > > Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
> > > > > >
> > > > > >
> > > > > > "Paul Harvey" wrote in message
> > > > > > news:F182BCD2C1AB59464295A820B803761F@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > > > > >
> > > > > > > And another thing, is there a way to "resolve" the sketch so
> that
> > > > > obvious
> > > > > > > constraints are applied automatically as the lines are brought
> in.
> > > > > Currently
> > > > > > > there are absolutely no sketch constraints applied to these
> > objects.
> > > > > It's
> > > > > > > quite a pain applying horizontal, vertical, tangent
constraints
> > > etcetera
> > > > > > > (especially when there's no visual cue to tell you when you're
> > > done).
> > > > > > >
> > > > > > > Thanks in advance
> > > > > > >
> > > > > > >
> > > > > >
> > > > > >
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > > >
> > > >
> > >
> > >
> >
> >
>
>
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.