Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
njseckora
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎10-12-2012
Message 1 of 4 (231 Views)

Assembly to part file linked parameters.

231 Views, 3 Replies
01-22-2013 07:49 AM

My goal is to open have people go into a central assembly file, type in their specific parameters and the various part files update within the assembly. I wish to do this without the need for an excel sheet, but when I try to link the parameters from the assembly file to the part files, it will not allow me to insert these parts. I get an error about an "assembly can not be placed into itself."

 

Iparts will not work as this has an infinite amount of sizes.

 

Thanks in advance.

Valued Mentor
stephengibson76
Posts: 1,117
Registered: ‎08-01-2006
Message 2 of 4 (216 Views)

Re: Assembly to part file linked parameters.

01-22-2013 09:47 AM in reply to: njseckora

create a dummy part with parameters, insert into your assembly, when you start a new part derive this dummy part into it and take the parameters you need, when you update the dummy part all the other parts will update...

 

do a search here for skeletal or master sketch modelling

Stephen Gibson



View stephen gibson's profile on LinkedIn


*Expert Elite*
jtylerbc
Posts: 890
Registered: ‎09-01-2010
Message 3 of 4 (209 Views)

Re: Assembly to part file linked parameters.

01-22-2013 10:40 AM in reply to: stephengibson76

It is also possible to have the parameters in your assembly and then use an iLogic rule to push their values out to the part files.

John Tyler
Inventor 2015
Windows 7 64 Bit
Valued Mentor
SeanFarr
Posts: 475
Registered: ‎07-25-2012
Message 4 of 4 (202 Views)

Re: Assembly to part file linked parameters.

01-22-2013 12:00 PM in reply to: njseckora

I think I was accomplished what you are trying to do. Not 100% sure,

 

I wanted to have a finished assembly file, that could altered by changing specifc parameters.

in my case, the 'skeleton' file dives the frame size. the sheet metal panels are a linked to the frame size, so if the frame size changes then the panels change accordingly.

 

See this link:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor-Customization/Form-want-to-change-parameters-of-skel...

 

I solved my own question, in the last post there is a link to a set of short videos, these were VERY helpful...

 

Let me know if it is what you were looking for.

 

Thanks

 

Sean Farr

Sean Farr
Product Designer at TESInc.ca

Inventor Professional 2014-Update 2 - AutoCAD Electrical 2014
Win7-x64 | ASUS P8Z77-V | i7 3770 -3.4 GHz | 32GB RAM |
240GB SSD | nVidia GTX 670 4GB - 320.49
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!