Inventor General Discussion

Reply
*Dotson, Sean
Message 11 of 17 (47 Views)

Re:

11-13-2002 12:49 AM in reply to: *Schumacher, Ken
That's an interesting idea...

--
Sean Dotson, PE
http://www.sdotson.com
...sleep is for the weak..
-----------------------------------------
"Richard Hinterhoeller" wrote in message
news:3DD28283.1080703@hfx.eastlink.ca...
> I suppose he could model it in IV and make a bitmap of the image.
>
> Seems like a bas ackwards way to do it but...
>
> Richard
>
*Schumacher, Ken
Message 12 of 17 (47 Views)

Re:

11-13-2002 01:02 AM in reply to: *Schumacher, Ken
Just finished trying that. Doesn't really fulfill my needs.
For what I'm trying to do here, this decal tool is useless.
I need to dimension the stripes so that they are in a specific location.
It would be different if all I needed was a pretty picture.


"Sean Dotson" wrote in message
news:0E304D0B6C99464433FC5DBAE78995F4@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> That's an interesting idea...
>
> --
> Sean Dotson, PE
> http://www.sdotson.com
> ...sleep is for the weak..
> -----------------------------------------
> "Richard Hinterhoeller" wrote in message
> news:3DD28283.1080703@hfx.eastlink.ca...
> > I suppose he could model it in IV and make a bitmap of the image.
> >
> > Seems like a bas ackwards way to do it but...
> >
> > Richard
> >
>
>
*Keller, Kent
Message 13 of 17 (47 Views)

Re:

11-13-2002 01:06 AM in reply to: *Schumacher, Ken
Ken

Can';t say I have tried it, but if it is just lines, how about drawing it up in AutoCAD,
and then doing a Bmpout, and using it. I would think it should be able to end up with the
lines in the right places then. In the IDW you could probably add small sketch lines
where needed and dimension to them?
--
Kent
Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program


"Ken Schumacher" wrote in message
news:992CBA8C0D2223B6B6333CCA11BC9183@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Just finished trying that. Doesn't really fulfill my needs.
> For what I'm trying to do here, this decal tool is useless.
> I need to dimension the stripes so that they are in a specific location.
> It would be different if all I needed was a pretty picture.
*Schumacher, Ken
Message 14 of 17 (47 Views)

Re:

11-13-2002 01:12 AM in reply to: *Schumacher, Ken
Hey Kent,

I just had a brain storm that I'm going to try.
I'll let you all know if and how it works.
Thanks for all the suggestions!

-Ken

"Kent Keller" wrote in message
news:EBDCC1A4D1955B56939FAF37F5C86B8F@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Ken
>
> Can';t say I have tried it, but if it is just lines, how about drawing it
up in AutoCAD,
> and then doing a Bmpout, and using it. I would think it should be able to
end up with the
> lines in the right places then. In the IDW you could probably add small
sketch lines
> where needed and dimension to them?
> --
> Kent
> Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
>
>
> "Ken Schumacher" wrote in message
> news:992CBA8C0D2223B6B6333CCA11BC9183@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > Just finished trying that. Doesn't really fulfill my needs.
> > For what I'm trying to do here, this decal tool is useless.
> > I need to dimension the stripes so that they are in a specific location.
> > It would be different if all I needed was a pretty picture.
>
>
*Keller, Kent
Message 15 of 17 (47 Views)

Re:

11-13-2002 01:34 AM in reply to: *Schumacher, Ken
Maybe the same one you just came up with, but.... you can also just show sketch lines in
IDW's now, so you could just sketch the lines on the part. (note I haven't looked at
your part to see how feasible it is)

--
Kent
Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program


"Ken Schumacher" wrote in message
news:smileyvery-happy:6724BCD8F900BEF0B1F3983D6123E11@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Hey Kent,
>
> I just had a brain storm that I'm going to try.
> I'll let you all know if and how it works.
> Thanks for all the suggestions!
>
> -Ken
*Schumacher, Ken
Message 16 of 17 (47 Views)

Re:

11-13-2002 02:25 AM in reply to: *Schumacher, Ken
No,
I decided to try keeping the stripe to the inside
edge by .00001" and continue to use the "cut" method. (.0001" deep.)
This seems to work satisfactorily for me.
It allows me to unfold the part and I can dimension the stripes.
(The stripes don't even show up on the flat blank!)

Thanks again for all the suggestions.
-Ken


"Kent Keller" wrote in message
news:383E5CFCEA3ED6AA08E36897F482FBDA@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Maybe the same one you just came up with, but.... you can also just show
sketch lines in
> IDW's now, so you could just sketch the lines on the part. (note I
haven't looked at
> your part to see how feasible it is)
>
> --
> Kent
> Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
>
>
> "Ken Schumacher" wrote in message
> news:smileyvery-happy:6724BCD8F900BEF0B1F3983D6123E11@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > Hey Kent,
> >
> > I just had a brain storm that I'm going to try.
> > I'll let you all know if and how it works.
> > Thanks for all the suggestions!
> >
> > -Ken
>
>
Distinguished Contributor
rllthomas
Posts: 2,068
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 17 of 17 (47 Views)

Re:

11-15-2002 02:50 AM in reply to: *Schumacher, Ken
You still need to get an artmaster made for the silk screener. Typically what they do is print out your lines along with crop marks and take a photo of it and transfer that onto a clear film. We typically export our geometry into Autocad and then create the silk screen there. If it has raster images too we pump it into CorelDraw. We then send only the silk screening, a titleblock, and the cropmarks to the silkscreen house that makes the artmaster from that. We also reimport the silk screening back into the Inventor Drawings which is very tedious. In R6 you could conceivable draw the silk screening on the part and show the part sketch in the drawing however part sketch text entities only show up as a bounding box and you wouldn't have any raster images.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.