Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Apply a profile to the edge of solids

7 REPLIES 7
SOLVED
Message 1 of 8
hugoagogo
1534 Views, 7 Replies

Apply a profile to the edge of solids

Hi im fairly new to inventor and looking for a solution for something i hope is quite a simple task

I am currently in the process of designing a marble run for my Design and Technology Major Project and for some of the parts i am looking for a simple way to add a channel to the edges of some pieces (when i make these pieces they will be cut out of a sheet of wood and then a router used to add the channel profile)

I hope that i have made myself clear and someone here is able to help

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
JDMather
in reply to: hugoagogo

Can you attach the file here?

Without anything to look at (not even a screen shot) it sounds like a Sweep would create the feature you want.
The plastics feature Lip might also be a solution.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

The CADWhisperer YouTube Channel

EESignature

Message 3 of 8
hugoagogo
in reply to: JDMather

Sorry i didnt upload a part i have some messy dependancies that i am in the process of cleaning up. Here is a screenshot though of a typical part.

part.png

In the picture i have drawn a line along the edges that should have the chanel in them

Message 4 of 8
Dennis_Jeffrey

You could use a offset workplane on this part, going through the center. Then create a 3D sketch that utilizes the worrkplane and desired part faces.

See attached.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.