Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

animate extrusion

11 REPLIES 11
SOLVED
Message 1 of 12
Bennetts
1086 Views, 11 Replies

animate extrusion

Hi Guys .... i am fairly new to inventor ... so here goes .... i am trying to show a blank plank of  "wood" being past though profile knife and cutter head and then on the other side of the knife i would like the plank of wood to now  be of course profiled acordingley. The only way i can explain that to people not in the wood tooling industry (that means everybody who will read this!!) is, imagine a block of aluminium going into a die at one end and coming out the other as its extruded shape. My problem is animating this process, i have no idea where to start !!! is it even possible ? I have drawn the knives and cutter head and can even get them to rotate using a drive constraint......................... Any help  would be greatly appreciated

Cheers

11 REPLIES 11
Message 2 of 12
JDMather
in reply to: Bennetts

Assign parameter to lengths.
Animate parameter shortening one while lengthening the other.

Attach your assembly here.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

The CADWhisperer YouTube Channel

EESignature

Message 3 of 12

Hi Bennetts, 

You'll need to use the tools in the Studio environment to do this rather than the Drive Constraints tool. You'll likely need to link your extrusion cut length parameter from the plank to the assembly (from the assembly go to Tools > Parameters > Link button > change the file type to look for .ipt files) and select the plank model). Then you can add the parameter to the favorites and animate it.