Inventor General Discussion

Bennetts
Message 1 of 12 (570 Views)
Accepted Solution

animate extrusion

570 Views, 11 Replies
04-13-2012 08:25 AM

Hi Guys .... i am fairly new to inventor ... so here goes .... i am trying to show a blank plank of  "wood" being past though profile knife and cutter head and then on the other side of the knife i would like the plank of wood to now  be of course profiled acordingley. The only way i can explain that to people not in the wood tooling industry (that means everybody who will read this!!) is, imagine a block of aluminium going into a die at one end and coming out the other as its extruded shape. My problem is animating this process, i have no idea where to start !!! is it even possible ? I have drawn the knives and cutter head and can even get them to rotate using a drive constraint......................... Any help  would be greatly appreciated

Cheers

Assign parameter to lengths.
Animate parameter shortening one while lengthening the other.

Attach your assembly here.

Hi Bennetts, 

You'll need to use the tools in the Studio environment to do this rather than the Drive Constraints tool. You'll likely need to link your extrusion cut length parameter from the plank to the assembly (from the assembly go to Tools > Parameters > Link button > change the file type to look for .ipt files) and select the plank model). Then you can add the parameter to the favorites and animate it.

Attached are some simple example files (please excuse the lack of real world details). You can open the assembly and go to the Studio Environment and then use the Animation Timeline controls to play it.

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com

Cut.gif

Curtis_Waguespack wrote:

Attached are some simple example files (please excuse the lack of real world details).  

Curtis - I think the cutter is rotating the wrong direction. 
:smileyvery-happy:

Bennetts,