Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
patric.la
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-02-2012
Message 1 of 17 (473 Views)
Accepted Solution

Angled dimention

473 Views, 16 Replies
05-02-2012 01:40 AM

Hello

 

I am working with a IDW and i can not get the angled dimensios to line up with the object that is a cross beam with angled ends. I trying to put in the length of each beams. Workt in Autocad mechanical.

 

Patrik

Patrik
Design suite premium 2014
Clevo p370em CPU-I7-3840QM single-680m 32ram
MSI Bigbang 2 CPU-3960x MSI-7970 X-fire 32ram

I am sorry to say that i can not make the dimension i need in Inventor. I can not make any constructionlines in the veiw skech. Can be that i am missing something here but there is more than my self that have tried here.

 

Thanks for all the input and i will use Autocad to do the dimension this time.

 

Regads Patrik

I'll help you

In you idw, pick your view that you want to sketch on, make sure the view has the dotted box around it.

In the annotate pallet tab select Create Sketch. The Cross hair will become visible in the center of the view. If it does not when the view was not selected before you picked Create Sketch.

Now Select Project Geometry and select your cross beams and other lines that you will want to dimension to. After you have picked all the geometry right mouse click and say done. Now Select the line command the draw a line perpenduar at the end of the project cross beam. You won't need to add any dimensions. Now Finish the sketch mode and go back to the standard idw You can on pick the sketch line and a point at the other end of the beam to get your dimension you want.

If you need more help please ask.

Thanks you are absolutely right it works very nice.

 

I will not use this dimension often but it allmost drive me crazy not understanding how to make it work.

 

It was very kind of you to help.

 

Patrik

*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,258
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 2 of 17 (463 Views)

Re: Angled dimention

05-02-2012 04:05 AM in reply to: patric.la

You're going to need to give a lot more information.  Like what release of Inventor are you using?  Post your file here or a screen shot of what you are trying to do.

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

Active Member
patric.la
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-02-2012
Message 3 of 17 (444 Views)

Re: Angled dimention

05-02-2012 05:37 AM in reply to: cbenner

Hi

 

Thanks..Ok i will try i have JPE

 

I did try in Inventor std 2013

 

First try..

 

Patrik

Patrik
Design suite premium 2014
Clevo p370em CPU-I7-3840QM single-680m 32ram
MSI Bigbang 2 CPU-3960x MSI-7970 X-fire 32ram

Active Member
patric.la
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-02-2012
Message 4 of 17 (415 Views)

Re: Angled dimention

05-02-2012 06:54 AM in reply to: patric.la

Ok here it.s done with Autocad and it works good.

 

Patrik

Patrik
Design suite premium 2014
Clevo p370em CPU-I7-3840QM single-680m 32ram
MSI Bigbang 2 CPU-3960x MSI-7970 X-fire 32ram

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,832
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 5 of 17 (410 Views)

Re: Angled dimention

05-02-2012 06:56 AM in reply to: patric.la

You will have to add a sketch construction line within the view.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Member
patric.la
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-02-2012
Message 6 of 17 (362 Views)

Re: Angled dimention

05-03-2012 02:18 AM in reply to: JDMather

Hi..

 

Thanks ok i did try that and i am now in a 1:10 scale so i got one 10 of my dimention and then i have to over ride. If i now did it all in the right order?

Anyway i under stand this right there is a differens in Inventor and autocad. So i have to work around that.

 

Patrik

 

 

Patrik
Design suite premium 2014
Clevo p370em CPU-I7-3840QM single-680m 32ram
MSI Bigbang 2 CPU-3960x MSI-7970 X-fire 32ram

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,832
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 7 of 17 (358 Views)

Re: Angled dimention

05-03-2012 03:34 AM in reply to: patric.la

There is nothing to override. 

Create the sketch.

Exit the sketch.

Add the dimension.

 

Attach all of youf files here.

In AutoCAD you are creating all of your documentation (2D) geometry.

In Inventor you are creating just some of it while the overwhelming majority is generated from the 3D model.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Member
patric.la
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-02-2012
Message 8 of 17 (339 Views)

Re: Angled dimention

05-03-2012 05:53 AM in reply to: JDMather

Thanks for your time...

 

Ok i just can not find the construction command when i am in the idw sketch. I can find construction command in the part sketch.

 

I use the std 2013 inventor have i perhaps missed something? i made a mistake of using the centerline first.

 

Patrik.

Patrik
Design suite premium 2014
Clevo p370em CPU-I7-3840QM single-680m 32ram
MSI Bigbang 2 CPU-3960x MSI-7970 X-fire 32ram

Mentor
RobJV
Posts: 544
Registered: ‎07-14-2004
Message 9 of 17 (311 Views)

Re: Angled dimention

05-03-2012 10:24 AM in reply to: patric.la

As JD has mentioned, you have to create a simple construction line.  I do support your question and you do actually raise an excellent point.  I too have drawings like the one you have shown and it would be great if Inventor caught up to Autocad in this regard.  Why should we have to create a construction line when there should be a way to simply align the dimension to the object and pick two points like you show.

 

I think it would be great for Inventor to add this feature!

 

Rob

*Expert Elite*
harco
Posts: 879
Registered: ‎02-16-2006
Message 10 of 17 (293 Views)

Re: Angled dimention

05-03-2012 12:54 PM in reply to: patric.la

I knew I had seen something similar a while back.

Bit of a search and found it.

Have a look here for julesgf solution

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/Dimension-Beveled-Tube-Ends/td-p/3203194/highlight/t...

 

 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.